× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Diversity Action Committee


This committee exists to foster a culture of equity through analysis, awareness, and advocacy of diverse populations and identify more inclusive practices for employees and students. This committee will engage in critical dialogue in regards to the current state of equity, diversity, and inclusion across the College. Committee members are encouraged to contribute to discussions and provide constructive feedback. Feedback received will support the comprehensive Strategic Plan for Equity & Inclusion. Committee members are also responsible for communicating updates and information from the committee to their respective Colleges.

Scope of Work

The Diversity Action Committee exists to:

  1. Promote an awareness and understanding of equal opportunity and nondiscrimination policies,  procedures, and resources
  2. Support a campus-wide equity and inclusion climate survey
  3. Make recommendations for the Strategic Plan for Equity & Inclusion
  4. Document and share efforts to support equity & inclusion at the colleges
  5. Celebrate efforts and achievements in increasing equity at Lone Star College

Diversity Action Committee Membership

LSC-System Office

Laura Cardiel Director, Governance, Equity, and Records
Timothy Sandles Program Coordinator, Equity and Inclusion
Sparkle Cephus Program Manager, Recruiting
Alicia Friday Executive Director, Organizational Development
Iris Hansen Manager, System Disability Services
Semra Malik Senior Analyst, Office of Completion


William Hackley Director, Student Services
Kristina Sampson Faculty, Math
Angelica Sutton Counselor


Alfred Dorsey (Acting) Coordinator, Menís Center
Kristen Johnson Director, Student Diversity and Equity
Oscar Ramos Dean, Atascocita Center
Alfredo Velez Faculty, Music


Terrence Hudson Veteran Advisor
Kendra Johnson Faculty, ESOL
Juan Lebron Lead Counselor
Terry Peterman Instructional Dean

LSC-North Harris

Cassandra Boyd Coordinator, Diversity
Barna Farkas Faculty, Economics
Kelly Jacobs Dean, Greenspoint and Victory Centers


Flonisha Dames Advisor, TRiO
Antonio Lopez Faculty, CISCO and Electronic Technology
Magdalena Mendoza Director, Diversity and Inclusion

LSC-University Park

Kevin Carreathers Director, Student Services
Arcelia Macedo Specialist, Student Learning Resource Center
Alma-Kristina Tusini Faculty, Sociology

Affinity Groups

Raymond Craft Council on Black American Affairs
Patricia Mayo-Bravo Hispanic Leadership Council



Make LSC part of your story.