× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

No Alerts at this time.

1. What classes will be offered and when?

Seven classes will be offered including ENGL 1301-Composition and Rhetoric I; HIST1301-United States History to 1877; EDUC 1300-Learning Framework: 1st Year Experience; BIOL 2401-Human Anatomy & Physiology I; MATH 0309-Foundations of Mathematical Reasoning; MATH 0310-Intermediate Algebra; and MATH 1314-College Algebra.

The classes will meet on the following schedule:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
MATH 0309
5:30-7:20 pm
Meets Monday and Wednesday
MATH 1314
6:00-7:20 pm
Meets Tuesday and Thursday
MATH 0309
5:30-7:20 pm
Meets Monday and Wednesday
MATH 1314
6:00-7:20 pm
Meets Tuesday and Thursday
MATH 0310
7:30-8:50 pm
Meets Monday and Wednesday
HIST 1301
6:00-8:50 pm
Meets Tuesday only
MATH 0310
7:30-8:50 pm
Meets Monday and Wednesday
ENGL 1301
6:00-8:50 pm
Meets Thursday only
BIOL 2401
6:00-8:50 pm (meet in lab)
Meets Monday and Wednesday
EDUC 1300
6:00-8:50 pm
Meets Tuesday only
BIOL 2401
6:00-8:50 pm
Meets Monday and Wednesday
 
       

2. When do classes start?

The fall semester begins the week of August 24, 2015.

3. How much do classes cost and can I get financial aid?

Tuition and fee rates are determined by the number of hours a student enrolls in as well as the student's residency. Financial aid is available to eligible students. Cost estimates can be figured using the chart below.

Credit
Hours
In-District1 Out-of-District
Texas Resident2
1 $92 $162
2 $152 $292
3 $212 $422
4 $272 $552
5 $332 $682
6 $392 $812
7 $452 $942
8 $512 $1,072
9 $572 $1,202
10 $632 $1,332
11 $692 $1,462
12 $752 $1,592
     
  1. Note: Minimum tuition rates are set by the state legislature and are subject to change by legislative action. Student tuition and fees are subject to change by the Lone Star College System Board of Trustees. Dual credit students receive a 100 percent discounted tuition rate, all other fees will be assessed at their regular rate. Textbooks and lab fees vary by program.
  2. In-district: Includes tuition at the rate of $42 per credit hour, a $9 per credit hour technology fee, a $2 per credit hour student activity fee, a $7 per credit hour general use fee, a registration fee of $12 and a facility use fee of $20. Applies to U.S. citizens who are residents of Aldine, Conroe, Cy-Fair, Humble, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Splendora, Spring, Tomball and Willis Independent School Districts.
  3. Out-of-district: Applies to U.S. citizens who are residents of Texas but do not reside in the college district. Includes the same tuition and fees as in-district students, plus a $70 per credit hour out-of-district fee.

4. Do I need a high school diploma or GED to start classes?

Students may be admitted to Lone Star College System by meeting specific criteria such as graduating from high school or obtaining a GED General Educational Certificate. Students who have not met those requirements may be admitted with special individual approval, including providing sufficient evidence that the student can do college-level coursework.

5. Do I need to take a placement test? If so, how much does it cost?

Students should bring any testing history from high school, transcripts from other colleges/universities, or veteran's documentation that might exempt them from certain sections of the TSI-A Placement Tests in math, reading, and writing. If students are not exempt and this test is required, students will first need to complete a Pre-Assessment Activity (PAA) in their myLoneStar account. The cost of the complete TSI-A test is $29; Individual sections are $10 per section.

6. How many classes can I take?

Students can take as many classes or as few classes as they want. Vice President approval is required for students attempting more than 18 credits in a given semester.

7. How do I know if the classes I'm taking will apply to my degree at Lone Star College or the college/university I plan to attend for my bachelor's degree?

Students should meet with a Lone Star College academic advisor to discuss their academic and career goals. The advisor will assist the student with developing a degree plan and course recommendations based on his intended major. Lone Star College offers associate of arts and associate of science degrees designed primarily for students who plan to continue their educations at a four-year colleges or universities. Students should also speak with an advisor at their intended university of choice to discuss course transferability. It is always up to the receiving institution to accept transferring credits. LSC staff is available onsite to discuss all courses related to LSC degree requirements. If planning on attending another institution, it is always best to contact that institution and discuss transferability of courses.

8. Will I have access to the resources available to other LSC-K students?

Yes. Students may access all of the services available to on-campus students including the library, the academic support center, online library resources, the fitness center and more. Students may also acquire an online library and LSC identification.

9. How do I register for classes? Can I do this myself? If so, where?

Registration for classes can be done after a student completes the admission and testing process. All of these steps can be completed during the evening information sessions at Cleveland High School on August 10, 11, 17 and 18 at 5:00-9:00 pm. Testing may take up to 4 hours and can be done on one or more of these evenings or on Saturday, August 15 between 10:00 am and 2:00 pm all at Cleveland High School.

10. What are my options for purchasing textbooks? Online, at the campus, costs, FA?

Textbooks are available for purchase in our campus bookstore, online or through a textbook rental agreement. Options vary, so please check with the campus bookstore to see what is available for your class. Students can come to campus to acquire books or have them shipped to their homes by online ordering at the LSC-Kingwood Bookstore.

Students will need their course numbers and course section numbers to find the appropriate books at this website. There are generally new, used, and rental options, and it's recommended to order textbooks before the 1st day of class.

Full refunds and exchanges are issued during the 1st week of classes. Books may be shipped back but must be postmarked within that 1st week of classes to get a refund.

Access the bookstore.