× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Friends Home Page Who We Are - Friends of the Library Programs & Events - Friends of the Library 

Friends Scholarship Recipients

2017-2018: Jessie Crain & Sunny Navarro

2016-2017: Angelica Amaya & Eduard Akhmedov

2015-2016: Jaime Questell & Stephen Steen

2014-2015: Melodee Smith

2013-2014: Chris Sandra Garza

2012-2013: Michele Pompa

Student Library Research Award

Thanks to the Friends of the Library for supporting this award
and all the students and professors who submitted projects!

Recipients for 2016-2017

First Place

Daniel Hines
    “The Changing of the Guard: The Evolving Strategy of the U.S. Navy in WWII”
Professor James Seymour, HIST 1302 (Honors)
"Surprisingly, for its size, a battleship was rather economical to operate, the upfront cost was often enormous, as was the cost of research and development, but once in service cost for operation was very low. The return on the investment was immense, five smaller Light Cruisers cost the same up front, but took more fuel, more men, and would not be able to bring the same fighting strength to the table."

Second Place

Amanda Atencio
“Minimizing and Utilizing Food Waste in America: A Proposal for a National Mandate to Reduce, Recycle, and Reuse Food Waste”
Professor Kasey Baker, ENGL 1302 (Honors)
"By showing people how to plan meals, avoid overbuying, be aware of misleading “sell by” dates, and buy “ugly foods,” campaigns can go a long way towards giving people the information they need to shop smarter. Smart shopping and practical planning will then go a long way towards eliminating much of the food waste on the consumer level, which accounts for a large portion of food waste in the US. Campaigns could also be a successful avenue for the creation of partnerships between stakeholders and local food pantries. By encouraging restaurants, grocers, and farmers, to form relationships with food donation centers, a large amount of nutritious foods could be redistributed to needy families. Along with feeding the hungry, the wastage of food in the retail sector can be significantly reduced."

Third Place

Jennifer Sampleton
“The Other Green Movement: The Damage Capitalism Inflicts on the Environment”
Professor Michelle Brown, ENGL 1302
"Capitalism promotes economic growth over environmental protection. The system encourages corporate greed. It devalues the environment and future generations. This has led to continued environmental damage…Attitudes and behaviors are going to have to change drastically for the system to protect the environment. The environment has to be valued by consumers and the government so that corporations will be forced to see its value."


  • First Place: Ana De Angulo
    “Caravaggio's Radical Religious Art and Profound Resonance”
    Professor Matt Backer, ARTS 1304 (Honors)
  • Second Place: Deborah Cerritos
    “The Continuation of Corruption in Law Enforcement”
    Professor Bindu Nayar, ENGL 1301
  • Third Place: Daniela Markovic
    “The Effects of Banning Books on High School Students”
    Professor Mark Thorsby, PHIL 1301 (Honors)


  • First Place: Gabriela Pineda - “Intentionality Sculpted: The Directedness Higher Level Educated Beings Adhere and Conform To”
    Professor Mark Thorsby, PHIL 2318
  • Second Place: Jessica Martinez - “A Wake-Up Call: Confronting Media Expectations for Body Image"
    Professor Kimberly Mori, ENGL 1301
  • Third Place: Braxton Fonner
    “Teaching How to Learn: In Support of Skills Based Education”
    Professor Jamili Omar, ENGL 1301


  • First Place: Ibrahim Iqbal - "The Sight We Lack"
    Professor Rebekah Love  - ENGL 1302
  • Second Place: Nancy Amin - "Education as a Fundamental Human Right"
    Professor Jamili Omar - ENGL 2333
  • Third Place: Judith Moore - "Death Penalty vs. Insanity Plea"
    Professor Fay Lee - ENGL 1301


  • First Place: Jordan Davis - "Avarice: A Case Study on the Abomination of For-Profit Prisons"
    Professor: Heidi Jo Green
  • Second Place: Candelario Leal - "Genius, Madness and Shamanism and the Upper Paleolithic Revolution"
    Professor: Matt Backer
  • Third Place: Karla Segura - "Gloria Anzaldua and the Bi-cultural Feminist Americana"
    Professor: Michelle Brown


  • First Place: April Johnson - "A Classic in Modern Times"
    Professor: Matt Backer
  • Second Place: Christopher Whitfill - "The Democratic Spirit"
    Professor: Mark Thorsby
  • Third Place: Bethany Reese - "Sin Represas: Without Dams!"
    Professor: Sergio Sarmiento


  • First Place: Cody Beers, "Daddy Complex"
    Professor: Patricia Healy
  • Second Place: Scott Liebling - "The Societal Effects of the Decline of Organized Labor in the United States"
    Professor: Heidi Jo Green
  • Third Place: Misty Nikel - "Reform for U.S.-China Trade"
    Professor: Patricia Healy


  • First Place: Brandon de Hoyos: "A War of Words: How Civil War Correspondents Changed the News Industry"
    Professor: Esther Robinson
  • Second Place: Gorge Sanchez-Ruiz: "Why the Federal Reserve Must Cease"
    Professor: Margaret Mendonca
  • Third Place: Jim Brant McMahon: "Prisoners of Intangible Walls"
    Professor: Sonila Themeli


  • First Place: Amy Mitamura: "The History of Radiation Safety"
    Professor: Cynthia Robertson 
  • Second Place: Victoria Marie Bee: "Female Genital Mutilation"
    Professor: Michelle Brown
  • Third Place: Maria A. Partearroyo: "Universal Health Care, a Right to Pursue"
    Professor: Bindu Nayar

Study Abroad Photo Contest Winners


  • First place Lauren Gonzales - This Was Once Home to Many (Italy)
    Student of Rob Coyle and Buck Buchanan
  • Second place – Anastasia Cowen - Counting Days (Poland)
    Student of Thomas Kelly and Hoyt Devries
  • Third place – Cody Brautigam - Amalfi Coast (Italy)
    Student of Rob Coyle and Buck Buchanan


  • First place – Chelsea Narrow - Swedish Waltz (Sweden)
    Honorable Mention for Exploration
    Student of Rob Coyle
  • Second place – Mario Torres - Rhythmic Motion (Belize)
    Student of Buck Buchanan
  • Third place – Camila Téllez - Je Suis Charlie (Germany)
    Honorable Mention for Stinging Past
    Student of Kelly Schimmel


  • First place – Ala'a Ibrahim - Tears Frozen in Time
  • Second place – Alejandro Ezquerra - Music from Other World
  • Third place – Skyeler Aguado - The Tico Life


  • First place – Jennifer Moore - In the Hopper
  • Second place – Silvia Pineros - Rain, Rain, No Sprinkles
  • Third place – Jamie Hackbarth - Got Volcano?


  • First place – Elizabeth Villarreal - Tanzanian Best Soccer Player
  • Second place – An Nguyen - Anchoring on Serenity
  • Third place – Stephanie Hernandez - Maasai Young Lady


  • First place – Marilyn Ferguson - Ancient Walmart
  • Second place – Alex Tompkins - The Rainforest
  • Third place – Mamisi Gordon - Praying or Peddling


  • First Place – Michelle Martinez, Time Left Standing
  • Second Place – Jassir Hernandez, Yellow Mountain
  • Third Place – Martha Ocampo, Belly of Hongcun


  • First Place – Lindsay Green, Footprints on the Sands of Time
  • Second Place – Kate Anderson, Vatican Museum Staircase
  • Third Place – Meredith Thibodeaux, Stopped Motion

International Flavor of Houston Photography Contest - Spring 2010

  • First Place – Abbas Batliwala, "All For a Cause"
  • Second Place – Ashley Richardson, "At a Stand Still" 
  • Third Place – Randy Olive, "Tu Bi Quan Am Dao Trang Temple"

Contact the Friends: fol.lsc.cyfair@gmail.com

The LSC-CyFair Branch Friends of the Library operate under the auspices of the Lone Star College Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.