× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Student events wrap up


Judges chose seven poster contest winners as part of the recent Earth Day Week celebration at Lone Star College-CyFair.

Approximately 165 students in Biology, Geology, Environmental Science, Geography – Geographic Information Systems classes at LSC-CyFair and LSC-Fairbanks Center participated in this year’s contest. Winners received bookstore vouchers.

Students at LSC-CyFair competed in three categories – Biology, Geology and Environmental Science. Posters were judged on Content Quality, Overall Layout, Graphics, Strength of the Message and Creativity.

The winners at LSC-CyFair were Branden McCormick with his poster “Storm of 1900” in the geology category; Jacqueline Le with “Lampreys” in the biology category and J.P. Saguin with “Selfish” in the Environmental Science category.

Posters entries at LSC-Fairbanks Center had an environmental theme and students were judged on how well they presented their topic and creativity.

The Best of Show winners at LSC-Fairbanks Center were Steven Zapata with “Desert”; Jason Read and Jessie Hoang with “Temperate Broadleaf Forest” and Trella Farley with “Go Green.”

“The number of posters and the quality of each poster was very impressive. It was difficult choosing winners because the students did a phenomenal job highlighting current environmental issues. Their posters were creative and very thought-provoking,” said Tim Sebesta, department chair.

For information on science-related courses, contact Sebesta at 281-290-3918 or Kathy Hughes at 832-782-5063.


Arnold Schwarzenegger, John F. Kennedy and others deemed “heroes” helped students win the recent “Who’s Your Hero?” speech contest at Lone Star College-CyFair.

Taylor Griffin won first place and a $100 Target gift card; Melissa Abney took second and earned a $75 Target gift card; Lesly Bohuchot was third and received a $50 Target gift card and Patricia Machado finished fourth and got a $25 Target gift card.

“Taylor’s speech was on Arnold Schwarzenegger. He had a good use of humor, his speech was written well and he had fantastic use of gestures and body movement,” said Heather Baker, professor of Speech Communication and one of the contest judges. “Melissa’s speech was on JFK. She used a crescendo style of delivery that helped convey her passion on the subject. She focused on his ability to enact the true definition of ‘hero.’”

Among the other “heroes” of the student speeches were their dads, a popular choice, Aristotle, themselves (“I am my own hero”) and children.

The LSC-CyFair Speech Department’s first annual “Who’s Your Hero?” speech contest, that was open to all students enrolled in a speech communication class, drew 10 presenters and more than 75 people in attendance. 

Joining Baker as contest judges were faculty members Sunnye Pruden and Burton French. Stacy Gresell emceed the evening. 

“Our judging criterion was based on a balance of delivery, both verbal and nonverbal, their writing style and the subject choice,” said Baker. “All of the contestants did a fantastic job.”

For students interested in speech and debate, contact Matt Taylor about the Forensics Club at 832-782-5066.

For information on the speech department, contact Baker, at 281-290-3914.


Along with the academic achievements being celebrated as another semester closes, are the outstanding achievements of students in the more than 40 Lone Star College-CyFair student organizations.

“The clubs are not just fun but help enhance the overall educational experience of students through social, cultural and intellectual activities,” said Holly Williams, Student Activities Program Manager. “Student clubs also provide opportunities for students to compete for scholarships and awards as well as to gain leadership, organization and teamwork skills.”

The recent Student Awards Banquet highlighted the variety of clubs available and recognized the impact such clubs, students and sponsors, make across the campus.

Award winners follow:
Outstanding New Club of the Year – The Pool Club
Outstanding Club of the Year – Phi Theta Kappa
Outstanding Club Member of the Year - Veronica Lee Salinas
Outstanding Club Officer of the Year - Dehua Lea
Outstanding Sponsor of the Year – Amy Acord
Student Activities Unsung Hero Award – Marcus Smith

In addition, Laura Galvan was recognized for her winning essay in the Women’s Month Essay Contest and Soyoung Chun earned the Outstanding Service Learning Student of the Year.

Williams also gave special recognition to the Video Production Club for all their work filming a variety of student activity events and to her coordinators Emily Franks and Veronica Curiel.

LSC-CyFair student organizations provide a framework for students to develop their own special talents and interests. Michael Kirch, professor of speech, former forensics club sponsor and current Interim Dean of Arts and Technology, shared stories and memories of his success in speech.  As the keynote speaker, his message at this year’s awards banquet was “never lose the joy.”

For information on student organizations, go to CyFair.LoneStar.edu/studentactivities or call Williams at 281-290-3270.