× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC SBDC names finalists for 23rd Annual Small Business awards

The Lone Star College System Small Business Development Center Advisory Council has selected 15 finalists for its 23rd Annual Small Business of the Year awards.

Each year, the LSC SBDC Advisory Council recognizes successful small businesses that make an impact in the local community and on the economy.

Nominees were gathered from the community and 15 finalists were selected by members of the advisory committee, three from each of the five college service areas, on the basis of leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, business growth, and contribution to the community. 

All 15 finalists are first recognized at a luncheon on Oct. 22 and then the winners – one from each of the five college service areas – are recognized at the 23rd Annual Small Business of the Year awards banquet on Nov. 19.

“We received excellent nominees for this year’s awards,” said Tammie Jeffers, chairperson of the nomination committee of the council. “It becomes tougher and tougher to select the best companies among the best of these that are nominated by their peers.”

“This is the 23rd year of the awards banquet and the tradition of honoring these successful small business owners,” said Sal Mira, executive director of the LSC-SBDC. “We’re grateful for the tremendous contributions these businesses make in our communities and we’re excited to be able to continue to spotlight them in this very special way.”

The 2009 23rd Annual Small Business of the Year finalists are: from LSC-CyFair – Deborah Hroch & Associates LLC, Deborah Hroch; Peak Financial Group LLC, Janine J. Moore; Unishippers, Joe Nichols; from LSC-Kingwood – Allied Power Mart, Angela Allen; Cherry Designs, Susan Cherry; Extension 19 Answering Service, Andie Szabo; from LSC-Montgomery – Barker Street Gourmet Dog Bakery and Boutique, Jay Kirsch and Frank Ciaccio; The Strong Firm PC, Bret Strong; Xpress Lube, Jeff Early;  from LSC-North Harris – A Dog’s Life Pet Salon & Boutique, Carol Fellbaum; Pizza Zone, Paul and Deborah Gainor; Veterinary Medical Center of Spring, Dr. Karen Gunn and Graham Gunn; and from LSC-Tomball – Chick-fil-A at Tomball, Joseph Piotrowski; Element Payment Services, Leo Corley; and Graco Awards Enterprises, LP, Tom Tucker.

The LSC SBDC works with existing companies to help them get started, grow and compete in today's global economy. SBDC services are available for companies in every phase of the business life cycle, helping entrepreneurs make sound decisions and succeed. For more information about the SBDC visit www.lonestar.edu/sbdc.

Lone Star College System consists of five colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, and LSC-Tomball, six centers, LSC-University Center, LSC-University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. With more than 57,000 students in credit classes this fall, LSCS is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and third largest community college system in Texas. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.