× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Lone Star College welcomes new Board of Trustee members

Three new members of the Lone Star College System Board of Trustees were sworn in at last week’s board meeting.

Representing District 3 is Alton Smith, Art Murillo represents District 4 and Ken E. Lloyd represents District 9. Board members are elected to single member districts and are volunteers who serve without pay. The three were elected by LSC voters on Nov. 4 as part of the general election.

Kevin Bailey, a former member of the Texas House of Representatives who represented the 140th District in Houston, conducted the oath of office ceremony for the new board members.

“We are very happy to welcome these gentlemen,” said Stephen Head, LSC chancellor. “Their willingness to serve their community is a testament to their character, and I look forward to working them as we continue to position Lone Star College as a leader in higher education.”

Smith, Murillo and Lloyd join current board members – David Holsey, D.D.S., District 1; Kyle A. Scott, Ph. D., District 2; David A. Vogt, District 5; Bob Wolfe, J.D., C.P.A., District 6; Linda S. Good, J.D. District 7; and Ron Trowbridge, Ph. D., District 9 – on the nine member board, representing a balance between the college and public interest.

The board also elected its new officers – Good was elected to the position of chair, Scott as vice chair, Trowbridge as secretary and Smith as assistant secretary. 

“One of the things that has made Lone Star College so successful is having a strong board. I would like to thank former members Stephanie Marquard, Bob Adam and Priscilla Kelly for all their hard work and efforts,” said Head.

Marquard, Adam and Kelly did not run for re-election in November. 

Board members, representing nine single-member districts, are elected by citizens in the LSC service area in November of even-numbered years and serve terms of six years each. The terms are staggered so not all districts are decided in the same year.

Ken E. Lloyd, Alton Smith and Art Murillo (pictured left to right) were sworn in as
new Lone Star College System Board of Trustee members. Board members are elected
to single member districts and are volunteers who serve without pay. 

Lone Star College has been opening doors to a better community for more than 40 years. Founded in 1973, LSC remains steadfast in its commitment to student success and credential completion. Today, with almost 83,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 95,000, Lone Star College is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and one of the fastest-growing community colleges in the nation. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., is the chancellor of LSC, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, seven centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online.