× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC students among group receiving scholarships to pursue training for petrochemical careers

Representatives from nine partnering community colleges and ExxonMobil recently presented more than $60,000 in scholarships to 43 selected students. The presentation event took place on Aug. 13.

The Community College Petrochemical Initiative (CCPI) is a collaboration between Alvin Community College, Brazosport College, College of the Mainland, Galveston College, Houston Community College, Lee College, Lone Star College, San Jacinto College and Wharton College. Together, these colleges help train more than 220,000 credit students and more than 83,000 non-credit students in over 13 counties in the greater Houston area.

“Lone Star College is proud to join our regional community colleges to help students receive the training they need to enter the workforce quickly, and well-trained,” said Dr. Melissa Gonzalez, LSC vice chancellor for workforce development. “The money these students received will help them earn a college degree so our local industries remain competitive.”

Students heard from the manager of the ExxonMobil Baytown Olefins Plant, Woody Paul, who reminded them that, while their backgrounds and stories may differ, each one is seeking to improve their lives through careers in the petrochemical industry. He applauded their discipline, tenacity, and determination as they juggled career training with family and current jobs.

In all, ExxonMobil has contributed more than $1.5 million toward training new workers with the skills needed to excel in Houston’s booming petrochemical industry. This is the second consecutive year that CCPI and ExxonMobil have brought together new student recipients to present scholarships and encourage them in their educational pursuits.

2015 scholarship recipients include:

From Alvin Community College: Joshua Huerta, Process Technology, Matthew Mitchell, Process Technology, Shemilore Oguntoye, Process Technology, and Robert Robinson, Process Technology.

From Brazosport College: Mark Morales, Process Technology, and Hong To, Welding Technology.

From College of the Mainland: Christine Guevara, Process Technology, Byron Howard, Process Technology, Danny Magee, Jr., Process Technology, and Robert Ware, Mechanical Maintenance Technology.

From Galveston College: Frank Ross, Electrical and Electronics Technology, Samantha Weber, Electrical and Electronics Technology, and Angelica Yanez, Electrical and Electronics Technology.

From Houston Community College: Samson Akinlade, Engineering, Johnathan Barra, Electrician Technology, Victor Lopez, Welding Technology, Vaibhav Patel, Drafting and Design Technology, Binh Pham, Drafting and Design Technology, and Tuyen Le, Engineering Technology.

From Lee College: Javier Barajas, Instrumentation, Blake Bogie, Process Technology, Eleazar Cantu, Pipe Design Technology, Lawrence Daniel, Process Technology, Ellis Dorrance, Instrumentation, Marisela Puente, Process Technology, and Martin Resendez, CADD.

From Lone Star College: Justin Cassaro, Automated Manufacturing, Said Charouch, Petroleum Data Technology, Milton Edwards, Automated Manufacturing, Laura Gimenez, Chemical Engineering, Stephen Hilliard, Welding Technology, and Shannon Lee, Petroleum Data Technology.

From San Jacinto College: Jonathan Gallo, Instrumentation, Gladys Jackson, Process Technology, Laura Plazibat, Process Technology, and Austen Riche, Process Technology.

From Wharton County Junior College: Heather Bannert, Process Technology, Dillon Baumgarten, Process Technology, Brian Hausler, Process Technology, Carl Jones, Process Technology, Matthew Krenek, Process Technology, Willie Walker, Process Technology, and Dakota Wallace, Process Technology.

Representatives from nine community colleges and ExxonMobil gathered for a photo with recipients
of the 2015 CCPI scholarship in the Nolan Ryan Center in Alvin following a luncheon for the recipients.

Lone Star College has been opening doors to a better community for more than 40 years. Founded in 1973, LSC remains steadfast in its commitment to student success and credential completion. Today, with almost 83,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 95,000, Lone Star College is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and one of the fastest-growing community colleges in the nation. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., is the chancellor of LSC, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, seven centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online.