× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

2015 Small Business of the Year winners named at Lone Star College SBDC Awards Ceremony

The Lone Star College Small Business Development Center Advisory Council has named its six 2015 Small Business of the Year Award winners.

The winners, one representing each of the six Lone Star Colleges, were announced at the SBDC Advisory Council’s 29th Annual Small Business of the Year Awards Banquet held at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott, Thursday, Nov. 19. This year’s awards were sponsored by BBVA Compass Bank.

The event included more than 340 guests and business owners who were welcomed by Stephen C. Head, LSC chancellor.

“Tonight we are here to honor the best of the best,” said Head. “Each winner has been selected on the basis of leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, business growth and success, and contribution to the community.”

The 2015 29th Annual Small Business of the Year award was given to:

  • Webb’s Automotive of Cypress – Roy and Tracie Webb, representing the LSC-CyFair area.
  • RE/MAX Rewards – Judith Hayes, representing the LSC-Kingwood area.
  • Bradbury Brothers Heating & Air Conditioning – Michael Bradbury, Todd Bradbury, Jason Bradbury and Jackie Bradbury-Guerrero, representing the LSC-Montgomery area.
  • Chick-fil-A Louetta Crossing – Mike Magdaleno, representing the LSC-North Harris area.
  • M2 the Agency, Inc. – Merideth and Andy Miller, representing the LSC-Tomball area.
  • Maid Brigade of NW Houston – James and Susan Fordice, representing the LSC-University Park area.

“The Small Business Development Center is proud to support all small business owners and help them to evolve to the next level,” said Sal Mira, executive director of the SBDC.

Each year, the LSC SBDC Advisory Council recognizes successful small businesses that make an impact in the local community. More than 200 nominees were gathered from the community and narrowed down to the 18 finalists. The finalists were selected by the 18 members of the advisory council on the basis of leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, business growth and contribution to the community.

The LSC SBDC works with companies to help them grow and compete in today's global economy. SBDC services are available for companies in every phase of the business life cycle, helping entrepreneurs make sound decisions and succeed. For more information about the SBDC visit sbdc.LoneStar.edu.

Lone Star College has been opening doors to a better community for more than 40 years. Founded in 1973, LSC remains steadfast in its commitment to student success and credential completion. Today, with almost 83,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 95,000, Lone Star College is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and one of the fastest-growing community colleges in the nation. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., is the chancellor of LSC, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, seven centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online.