× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC-University Park’s Psi Beta group wins national award for excellence again

Lone Star College-University Park chapter of Psi Beta has earned national recognition for the second year in a row.

The national psychology honor society for community colleges has given the LSC-University Park chapter one of only 14 national Chapter Excellence Awards for the 2015-2016 academic year. LSC-University Park’s young chapter held its first induction in March of 2015 and has since become one of the college’s most active academic organizations.

LSC-University Park President Shah Ardalan said the organization sets national standards. “We are very proud of our students and the chapter’s faculty advisors, professors Cherry Sawyerr and Nicole Stalnaker,” he said. “Psi Beta encourages students to set high standards in and outside of the classroom, which in turn puts leaders back into the community.”

Sawyerr, associate professor of psychology, said she submitted an extensive amount of information about the group’s activities and goals. “Excellence is something that is a standard for our College and it is something that we strive for in everything we do. Our students realize this and have done an excellent job, but it’s still surprising and a great honor to achieve so much so soon.” 

The award recognizes chapters whose activities reflect the organization’s focus on leadership, scholarship, community service and research.

Sawyerr said winning the national chapter excellence award for the second straight year sets the bar high for the upcoming academic year.

“We’ve got to keep it going – we’ve got to get it next year,” she said. “I’m definitely excited to push myself and the members even further.”

LSC-University Park’s Psi Beta student executive officers are Jaswin John, president; D’Jacarda Colbert, vice president; Trisha Wathan, secretary; Stella Lai, treasurer; Deon Brown and Eric Fauser, chapter delegates and Jesela Cantu and Jamie Cruz, historians.