× LONE STAR ALERT:

Visit LoneStarAlert for more information.

Dean

James Stubbs

James StubbsJames Stubbs is Dean of Fire Science, Letters, Arts & Kinesiology (FLAK) at Lonestar College - Kingwood. Prior to becoming Dean, he also served as band director and professor of music and directed the Kingwood Big Band, Lone Star College - Kingwood Jazz Ensemble, and the Kingwood Community Symphonic Band.

Prior to his arrival at Lone Star College - Kingwood in 2004, Mr. Stubbs was the director of bands at Navarro College in Corsicana, Texas for fourteen years where he directed the marching band, athletic bands, jazz ensembles, theater orchestras, wind ensembles, and community bands. His teaching duties have included courses in music theory, music appreciation, American music, jazz improvisation, and applied brass.

Prior to his career in higher education, Mr. Stubbs served as a high school band director and applied trumpet educator in high schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas. He is a native of Pine Bluff, Arkansas and is a graduate of Louisiana Tech University, the University of North Texas, and is a doctoral candidate at Baylor University.

Email: James.D.Stubbs@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1501
Office: PAC 117-A
Web Site

Department Chair

Eric C. Skiles

Eric C. SkilesEric C. Skiles, professor and artistic director of theatre, joined LSC-Kingwood 12 years ago. Skiles earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree in conducting, vocal music and pedagogy from Texas Tech University and a Master of Fine Arts degree in acting and directing from the same institution.

Skiles has presented more than 39 papers at the local, state, regional and national levels. In addition, Skiles has contributed and/or authored more than 20 publications including 18 book reviews for the American Library Association. He also co-authored "Acting Across Disciplines" with Homan and Ellison. Skiles has also written and produced one play, "Across a moonbeam."

Skiles has earned numerous awards. He was recognized for producing "The Vagina Monologues" by the Kennedy Center American College (KC-ACTF) Theatre Festival in 2011. He was also recognized by the KC-ACTF for producing "Gross Indecency: The Three Trials of Oscar Wilde." In 2010, Skiles was recognized with the LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award.

"I am madly passionate about the world of theatre, and creating unique works of art to share with our students and our community," Skiles explained. "This has been an amazing ride, and the great ride continues. It is a pleasure to work at LSC-Kingwood and be surrounded by other passionate people who care so much for our students and their education."

Email: Eric.C.Skiles@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1672
Office: PAC 113-A
Web Site

Faculty

Dr. Todd Miller

Dr. Todd MillerTodd R. Miller, professor of music and chair of the visual and performing arts, joined LSC-Kingwood in 1994. Miller earned a Bachelor of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Louisville. He also obtained a Master of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Arizona. In addition, he holds a doctoral degree in voice performance and conducting from the University of Houston.

Miller has presented a number of papers. He presented, "Carlisle Floyd and Susannah" at the University of Southern Mississippi in 2005. He has also performed with the Houston Symphony, the Houston Choral Society, Houston Chamber Choir, Greenbriar Consortium, the San Antonio Symphony, and Opera, Des Moines Metro Opera, Opera in the Heights, and three Carnegie Hall performances.

In 2003, he was honored with the LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award. Miller has also been nominated twice for the Piper Professor Award.

"I have a passion for music and its importance in human society and I have a passion for students who want to make music their life's vocation," Miller explained. "Kingwood has been very supportive of my dreams as an educator and as a performer, and the students have benefitted from that support."

Email: Todd.R.Miller@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1485
Office: MUS 115
Web Site

Alfredo Velez

Alfredo VelezAlfredo Velez, associate professor of music and director of bands joined LSC-Kingwood in 2010. Velez earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Angelo State University and a Master of Music Education degree from the same institution.

Velez is a past president of the Texas Bandmasters Association.

"I love music and enjoy working with both students and colleagues," Velez stated.

Email: Alfredo.Velez@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.318.4335
Office: MUS 114
Web Site

Dr. Robert Hunt

Dr. Robert HuntAs the new associate professor of music at LSC-Kingwood, Dr. Robert Hunt will utilize his wealth of experience to teach and cultivate talented students. In addition to serving as the college’s collaborative pianist, he will teach classes in piano, music theory and music appreciation.

Prior to LSC-Kingwood, Hunt served for eight years as music director of Sam Houston State University Opera. He worked 13 years as conductor/music director of the Midland-Odessa Symphony and Chorale and five years as director of commercial music studies at Midland College. He was also the conductor/music director for Ray Price; music director at American Cabaret Theatre in New York; arranger for New York Pops at Carnegie Hall; and conductor and pianist with Willie Nelson, the Moody Blues, the Lettermen, Susan Graham, and Vic Damon.

“The best part of my job is drawing on a lifetime of musical experiences to help young musicians prepare for a career in music performance or teaching,” he said.

Hunt earned his Bachelor of Music degree from Southern Methodist University; a Master of Music degree from Texas Christian University; a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from University of Houston; and completed post graduate study at Indiana University. He is affiliated with the Music Teachers National Association, American Federation of Musicians, Texas Music Educators Association, and Pi Kappa Lambda.

“LSC-Kingwood’s emphasis on students is refreshing. The friendliness and helpfulness of everyone I’ve encountered creates an impression of an unusually collegial academic environment — of which I’m pleased to be a part!” Hunt said.

Email: Robert.E.Hunt@LoneStar.edu  
Phone: 281-312-1746
Office: MUS 112

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Office
Keith Almstedt
Guitar, Appreciating Music, American Music
  Keith.M.Almstedt@lonestar.edu MUS 111
Joe Beam
Percussion
  Joseph.A.Beam@lonestar.edu MUS 117B
Craig Beatie
Low Brass
  Craig.Beatie@lonestar.edu  
Christopher Besch
Diction, Voice
  Christopher.M.Besch@lonestar.edu  
Aaron Bielish
Violin, Viola
  Aaron.J.Bielish@lonestar.edu  
Kristin Briggs
Aural Skills
  Kristin.C.Briggs@lonestar.edu  
Patrick Brink
Trumpet, Horn, Class Piano, American Music, Jazz Improvisation
  Patrick.L.Brink@lonestar.edu MUS 126
Barbara Butler
Piano
  Barbara.A.Butler@lonestar.edu MUS 106
Dr. John Crabtree
Music Fundamentals, Appreciating Music, American Music, Theory, Aural Skills
  John.M.Crabtree@lonestar.edu  
Jose Diaz
Chévere Director
  Jose.A.Diaz@lonestar.edu  
       
       
Kelli Estes
Appreciating Music, American Music, Voice
  Kelli.A.Estes@lonestar.edu  
John Gearhart
Appreciating Music, Class Piano, Organ
  John.Gearhart@lonestar.edu  
Jackson Hearn
Class Piano
  Paul.J.Hearn@lonestar.edu  
Kristen Hertzenberg
Diction, Voice
  Kristen.A.Hertzenberg@lonestar.edu  
Gary Liebst
Kingwood Pops Orchestra Conductor
  Gary.L.Liebst@lonestar.edu  
Steven Martin
Cello, Double Bass
  Stephen.Martin@lonestar.edu  
Aaron Martinez
Clarinet, Saxophone, Appreciating Music, American Music
  Aaron.P.Martinez@lonestar.edu  
Dr. Nell Mathews
Piano, Coach/Accompanist
  Nell.H.Matthews@lonestar.edu  
Rosendo Reyna
Guitar, Music Theory
281.318.4311 Rosendo.Reyna@lonestar.edu ADM 108
James Roberson
Oboe, Bassoon
  James.E.Roberson@lonestar.edu  
David Sloat
Voice
  David.J.Sloat@lonestar.edu MUS 111
Andrew Schneider
Coach/Accompanist
  Andrew.Schneider@lonestar.edu  
Marvin Sparks
Percussion, EDUC
  Marvin.Sparks@lonestar.edu MUS 117B
Trung Trinh
Violin, Viola
  Trung.L.Trinh@lonestar.edu  
Ernesto Vega Perez
Clarinet, Saxophone
  Ernesto.C.VegaPerez@lonestar.edu MUS 126
Amy Wiggs
Flute
  Amy.S.Wiggs@lonestar.edu MUS 120

Music Office Suite

Mail: MUS 109

Staff

Name Phone Office
Mitzi Payne
Division Specialist
281.312.1501 Mitzi.Payne@lonestar.edu PAC 117
Tracheal Freeman
Division Operations Manager
281.312.1620 Tracheal.M.Freeman@lonestar.edu PAC 118A
Angie Spargur
Fine Arts Coordinator
281.312.1709 Mary.A.Spargur@lonestar.edu MUS 110
Melissa Stoltz
Music Librarian, Staff Assistant
281.312.1778 Melissa.L.Stoltz@lonestar.edu MUS 103