Dean

James Stubbs

James StubbsJames Stubbs is Dean of Fire Science, Letters, Arts & Kinesiology (FLAK) at Lonestar College - Kingwood. Prior to becoming Dean, he also served as band director and professor of music and directed the Kingwood Big Band, Lone Star College - Kingwood Jazz Ensemble, and the Kingwood Community Symphonic Band.

Prior to his arrival at Lone Star College - Kingwood in 2004, Mr. Stubbs was the director of bands at Navarro College in Corsicana, Texas for fourteen years where he directed the marching band, athletic bands, jazz ensembles, theater orchestras, wind ensembles, and community bands. His teaching duties have included courses in music theory, music appreciation, American music, jazz improvisation, and applied brass.

Prior to his career in higher education, Mr. Stubbs served as a high school band director and applied trumpet educator in high schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas. He is a native of Pine Bluff, Arkansas and is a graduate of Louisiana Tech University, the University of North Texas, and is a doctoral candidate at Baylor University.

Email: James.D.Stubbs@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1501
Office: PAC 117-A
Web Site

Interim Department Chair

Anne Amis

Anne AmisAnne Amis, professor of English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), and chair of the English department, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2007. Amis earned a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish from Hendrix College and a Master of Arts in Teaching ESOL from the SIT Graduate Institute.

Amis has presented two papers: "Activities to Energize Academic Writing" at the Texas of English of Other Languages (TESOL) conference in 2011. In addition, she presented "Applying Appreciative Inquiry in an ESOL Writing Class."

In 2012, she was the recipient of the Faculty International Education Grant, Vietnam. She was also honored with the 2011 LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award.

Amis is a member of the college's Intercultural Student Organization, The Academy and the Behavioral Intervention Team.

"I teach ESOL because it gives me the opportunity to work alongside immigrants and international visitors who are exploring the life-changing gifts and challenges mastering another language provides. As a second-language learner myself, I find the process extremely rich and rewarding," Amis explained. "During my time at LSC-Kingwood, I have always been offered opportunities for personal and professional growth; I love teaching and working here because I am always learning something new, be that a new course I teach a diverse and international student population or professional development activities."

Email: Anne.E.Amis@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1737
Office: CLB 102-I
Web Site

Faculty

Dr. Todd Miller

Dr. Todd MillerTodd R. Miller, professor of music and chair of the visual and performing arts, joined LSC-Kingwood in 1994. Miller earned a Bachelor of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Louisville. He also obtained a Master of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Arizona. In addition, he holds a doctoral degree in voice performance and conducting from the University of Houston.

Miller has presented a number of papers. He presented, "Carlisle Floyd and Susannah" at the University of Southern Mississippi in 2005. He has also performed with the Houston Symphony, the Houston Choral Society, Houston Chamber Choir, Greenbriar Consortium, the San Antonio Symphony, and Opera, Des Moines Metro Opera, Opera in the Heights, and three Carnegie Hall performances.

In 2003, he was honored with the LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award. Miller has also been nominated twice for the Piper Professor Award.

"I have a passion for music and its importance in human society and I have a passion for students who want to make music their life's vocation," Miller explained. "Kingwood has been very supportive of my dreams as an educator and as a performer, and the students have benefitted from that support."

Email: Todd.R.Miller@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1485
Office: MUS 115
Web Site

Alfredo Velez

Alfredo VelezAlfredo Velez, associate professor of music and director of bands joined LSC-Kingwood in 2010. Velez earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Angelo State University and a Master of Music Education degree from the same institution.

Velez is a past president of the Texas Bandmasters Association.

"I love music and enjoy working with both students and colleagues," Velez stated.

Email: Alfredo.Velez@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.318.4335
Office: MUS 114
Web Site

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Office
Amy Wiggs
Flute
Amy.S.Wiggs@lonestar.edu
Barbara Butler
Piano
Barbara.A.Butler@lonestar.edu
David Sloat
Voice
David.J.Sloat@lonestar.edu
James Roberson
Bassoon
James.E.Roberson@lonestar.edu
Marvin Sparks
Percussion, Music Appreciation
Marvin.Sparks@lonestar.edu
Rosendo Reyna
Guitar, Music Theory
281.318.4311 Rosendo.Reyna@lonestar.edu ADM 108
Trung Trinh
Violin, Viola
Trung.L.Trinh@lonestar.edu
Eric Fisher
Music Fundamentals
Eric.D.Fisher@lonestar.edu
Jackson Hearn
Class Piano, Music Appreciation
Paul.J.Hearn@lonestar.edu
Keith Almstedt
Guitar
Keith.M.Almstedt@lonestar.edu
Patrick Brink
Electronic Music, Trumpet, Horn
Patrick.L.Brink@lonestar.edu
Steven Martin
Bass, Cello
Stephen.Martin@lonestar.edu
Gary Liebst
Kingwood Pops Conductor
Gary.L.Liebst@lonestar.edu
Aaron Martinez
Saxophone, Clarinet
Aaron.P.Martinez@lonestar.edu
Craig Beatie
Low Brass
Craig.Beatie@lonestar.edu
John Gearhart
Organ
John.Gearhart@lonestar.edu
Jamie Dahman
Voice, American Music
Jamie.W.Dahman@lonestar.edu
Kelli Estes
Voice, Music Appreciation
Kelli.A.Estes@lonestar.edu
Kristin Briggs
Sight Singing
Kristin.C.Briggs@lonestar.edu

Staff

Name Phone Office
Mitzi Payne
Division Coordinator
281.312.1501 Mitzi.Payne@lonestar.edu PAC 117
Tracheal Freeman
Division Operations Manager
281.312.1620 Tracheal.M.Freeman@lonestar.edu PAC 118-A
Melissa Stoltz
Staff Assistant II, Music
Melissa.L.Stoltz@lonestar.edu MUS 113
Angie Spargur
Fine Arts Coordinator
281.312.1709 Mary.A.Spargur@lonestar.edu MUS 110