About LSC-University Center


Lone Star College-University Center at Montgomery is a partnership of universities and the Lone Star College System to provide unduplicated bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and continuing professional studies programs to the LSCS service area. Academic partnerships, seamless articulated programs, collaborative governance, shared facilities, communications and computer technology, and student services allow the LSC-University Center at Montgomery to serve as the critical link for community development and individual opportunity to over one and one-half million citizens of North Houston, North Harris County, and Montgomery County.

Public Private Partnerships

Local universities and the community college system, including five colleges, have joined together to offer unduplicated bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and three special programs.

Lone Star College System:

  • LSC-Cy-Fair
  • LSC-Kingwood
  • LSC-Montgomery
  • LSC-North Harris
  • LSC-Tomball
  • LSC-University Park

Partner Universities: 

  • Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Sam Houston State University
  • University of Houston-Victoria
  • University of St. Thomas 

LSCS local taxpayers and private sector partners built the facility and telecommunications infrastructure at no cost to the state. Universities are responsible for their degrees and support the instructional, facilities utilized, and shared support services costs. The College System is responsible for the instruction and student services at the freshman and sophomore levels.


LSC-University Center at Montgomery is the centerpiece for multi-level instruction of universities and the LSCS. LSC-University Center includes a dedicated classroom/laboratory facility of approximately 78,000 sq. ft. as well as an interactive, video conferencing system that connects the colleges of LSCS and the partner universities. The Universities began offering classes in September 1997. In recognition of his commitment to making higher education available to the community, the building was named in honor of George P. Mitchell, CEO of Mitchell Energy and founder of The Woodlands. LSC-University Center at Montgomery received full approval by The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in April 1996. Groundbreaking occurred in June 1996 using the theme “common ground for the common good.” Facilities opened in January 1998.


LSC-University Center at Montgomery is degree driven. Partner universities offer courses necessary for a student to complete baccalaureate and master’s degree programs at LSC-University Center at Montgomery. Operational costs of instruction, facilities, and services provided are shared pro-rata by the universities based on enrollment. Technology and telecommunications are used to interconnect and deliver student support and learning services. LSCS colleges offer the freshman and sophomore course work utilizing seamless, articulated AA, AS, and AAS degrees. The standards for the quality of the degrees offered and awarded matches standards at the home campus. One-stop student support services. Diverse multi-level higher education institutions work together and make a difference for students, businesses, and communities.