Writing Workshops and Success Seminars

This schedule is subject to change. Check back here for updates and additions. 

Select past workshop presentations can be accessed by clicking on a highlighted title.

Title Presenter(s) Date Time Location

The Write Place: Who we are and How We Can Help You Succeed!

John Wood
Wed., Feb. 3 1-2
G114

Putting it to the Fire: The Importance of Critical Thinking

John Wood
Mon., Feb. 8
12-1 G114

The Wonders of Word: An Introduction to Microsoft Office

Anastasia Rigoli  

Wed., Feb. 10

1-2 G107

Note Taking Skills (Lecture) (Template)

John Wood
Thurs., Feb. 11 1-2 G114

Grammar Workshop Series: Punctuation in Academic Writing- Commas Save Lives!

Anastasia Rigoli Mon, Feb. 15 1-2 G114

Diction: Finding the Word and its Denotation (Latin and Greek Roots)

John Wood Tues, Feb. 16 1-2 G114

Back to Basics: Structure of an Essay   

Anastasia Rigoli Wed, Feb. 17 1-2 G114
Writing Introductions, Conclusions and Thesis Statements 

Nathan Zingleman

Thurs., Feb. 18 1-2 G114

MLA Basics: Formatting and Citing Correctly

Nathan Zingleman Mon, Feb. 22 1-2 G114

HESI Preparation: Reading and Drawing Conclusions

Nathan Zingleman Tues, Feb. 23 1-2 G114
Voyage of Discovery: The Research Process John Wood Wed, Feb. 24 1-2

G114

Peeling an Onion: How to Read Poetry

John Wood Mon., Feb. 29 1-2 G114
Grammar Workshop Series: Sentence Variety and the Basic Types of Sentences Nathan Zingleman

Tues., Mar. 1

1-2 G114

HESI Preparation: Building Vocabulary and Context Clues

Nathan Zingleman Wed, Mar. 2 1-2 G114
Political Science: A Guide to Research and Writing

Fiona Ross

Thurs, Mar. 3 1-2 G114

Grammar Workshop Series: Conjunction Junction, What's Their Function?

Anastasia Rigoli Mon, Mar. 7 1-2 G114

Writing a Scientific Research Paper

Nathalie Brandes Thurs, Mar. 10 1-2 B102

Preparing for the Job Interview: Writing a Cover Letter and Resume

Fiona Ross Mon., Mar. 21 1-2 G114
APA Basics: Formatting and Citing Correctly Nathan Zingleman Wed., Mar. 23 1-2

G114

Grammar Workshop Series: Using Grammar to Shape Style

Nathan Zingleman Mon., Mar. 28 1-2 G114

Writing a Scientific Research Paper

Nathalie Brandes Tues,, Mar. 29 3-4 B102

Preparing for the Job Interview: What to do

Fiona Ross Wed., Mar. 30 1-2 G114

How to Write a General Research Paper

Nathan Zingleman Mon,, Apr. 4 1-2 G114

MLA Basics: Formatting and Citing Correctly

Nathan Zingleman Tues,, Apr. 5 1-2 G114

HESI Preparation: Main Ideas and Supporting Details

Nathan Zingleman Thurs, Apr.7 1-2 G114

APA Basics: Formatting and Citing Correctly

Nathan Zingleman Thurs, Apr. 14 1-2 G114

 Writing to Succeed: How to Write a Good Cover Letter

Suzanne Moore    Mon, Apr. 18 12-1 G114

    If you have an idea for a workshop that is not on our schedule, please send an email to Nathan Zingleman, Write Place Director, a thewriteplace@lonestar.edu . We'll try to offer it either this semester or next!

    Name:
    Email:
    Comments: