News & Events

Chancellor's Breakfast Celebrates 25 Years with Essay Scholarships

Chancellors Breakfast Group 2018 Bottom Row: Belten Langmia LSC-North Harris, Saul Valentin LSCF Board Chair, Stephen Crowell LSC-Tomball, Deven Savage LSC-University Park, Middle Row: Myriam Saldivar LSC Trustee, McKenna Bailey LSC-Montgomery, Lutricia Wheeler LSC-Kingwood, Mikayla Kracko LSC-CyFair, Disha Patel LSC-Greenspoint Center, Rioghonosa Okpiabhele LSC-Fairbanks Center, Top Row: Abigail Jones LSC-Conroe Center, Ken Lloyd LSC Trustee, Seth Sharr LSCF board, Dr. Alton Smith LSC Trustee Chair, Lynn LeBouef LSCF board, Elizabeth Mitchell LSC-Cypress Center, Ruby Qattan LSC-Atascocita Center, Nicole Robinson Gauthier LSCF Executive Director

For the last 25 years, the Chancellor's Breakfast highlights students from across the district who are making their dreams a reality and gives an opportunity for Foundation donors to witness first-hand the caliber of talent resulting from their investment in students. Essay winners selected from each campus and for the first time, centers, won $1,000 scholarships. Six of the students read their essays at the breakfast presented by Entergy Texas, Inc.

"Winning this scholarship is important to me because it gives me the confirmation that if I put my mind to something, whatever it is, I can achieve it," LSC-Kingwood winner Lutricia Wheeler said. Many of the winners mentioned how much the faculty, staff, and fellow students have helped them not just excel in the classroom but become better people.

From an initial investment of $20,000 over 25 years ago, the Foundation now has an endowment of more than $25 million. During the 2016-17 fiscal year, the Foundation gave out $1.7 million in scholarships to 1,500 students. Without scholarships from generous donors, many cannot make their dreams a reality. "I have made many personal sacrifices to get my education, and this scholarship substantially lessens the effects of those expenses," LSC-Atascocita Center winner Ruby Qattan said.

As Foundation board member, donor, and CEO of Tomball Regional Health Foundation Lynn LeBouef said at the breakfast, "Lone Star is like family, and you help family".

For the first time students at centers, in addition to our six colleges, won essay scholarships. Out of our winners, six were selected to read his or her essay at the breakfast. Congratulations to all of our 2018 Chancellor's Breakfast Essay Scholarship winners!

McKenna Bailey, LSC-Montgomery
Stephen Crowell, LSC-Tomball
Abigail Jones, LSC-Conroe Center
Mikayla Kracko, LSC-CyFair
Belten Langmia, LSC-North Harris
Elizabeth Mitchell, LSC-Cypress Center
Rioghonosa Okpiabhele, LSC-Fairbanks Center
Disha Patel, LSC-Greenspoint Center
Ruby Qattan, LSC-Atascocita Center
Deven Savage, LSC-University Park
Lutricia Wheeler, LSC-Kingwood

Click below to hear the speeches.

Sign up for our newsletter!

Receive notifications of news, events, and ways to support the Lone Star College Foundation.