Chancellor's Breakfast celebrates students’ journeys

Almost 200 people from all over Lone Star College’s 1,400 sq. mile service area gathered to celebrate student success at the 26th annual Chancellor’s breakfast on February 26th. Essay winners from Lone Star’s colleges and centers each won scholarships while six were selected to read their essays to the crowd on “how my Lone Star College experience has influenced my life.”

“LSC provides students with all types of resources from tutoring, to counseling, scholarships and more. The institution provides resources that help us so our education will not be interrupted,” said North Harris winner Johnesia Davis.


For many students, scholarships from the Foundation and its generous donors are crucial to fulfilling their dreams of higher educations.


“These students' stories were personally inspiring to listen to,” said Nicole Robinson Gauthier, CFRE, LSC Foundation executive director. “Their scholarships were made possible by the generous support from the many individuals, families, businesses and foundations which help Lone Star College students achieve their dreams.”

Representatives from Congressman Kevin Brady’s and Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee’s offices also presented proclamations to LSC Foundation and the essay winners.

The 2019 Chancellor’s Breakfast Essay Scholarships Winners are:


Sarai Barragan, LSC-Conroe Center

Johnesia Davis, LSC-Victory Center

Marisela Flores, LSC-Tomball

Alberto Gonzalez, LSC-Process Technology Center

Amber Hatton, LSC-Atascocita Center

Ruth-Anna McDonald, LSC-Kingwood

Dusti Miller, LSC-North Harris

Derrick Rivera, LSC-Fairbanks Center

Alis Rodriguez, LSC-CyFair

Luis Rodriguez, LSC-University Park

Mary Vallery, LSC-Montgomery

Edward Waltz, LSC-Creekside Center


Click below to hear each of the speeches.

Alis Rodriguez Alberto Gonzalez Mary Vallery
Johnesia Davis Marisela Flores Luis Rodriguez