LSC-University Park mathematics professor receives excellence award

Devika Lalsinghani, professor of mathematics at Lone Star College-University Park, has been named a recipient of the inaugural 2012 John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award.

Lalsinghani was recognized for her outstanding contributions to teaching, leadership and learning by the League for Innovation in Community College.

The League for Innovation is a worldwide consortium of more than 750 community colleges and universities. John E. and Suanne D. Roueche are leaders in the community college field and early proponents of the idea that teachers have major responsibility for how students succeed in the classroom. The Roueches have been partners and friends of the League for more than 35 years.

According to Lawrence Brandyburg, vice president of instruction and student support at LSC-University Park, “Devika was selected for her commitment to student success on the LSC-University Park campus. She consistently exceeds course load expectation each semester, serves on various committees that have a direct impact on academic success and helps tutor students at our Tutoring Center.”

The Cypress resident has taught mathematics for nine years within LSCS before arriving at LSC-University Park as a founding faculty member.

Lalsinghani and other honorees will receive a commemorative medallion and certificate signifying her accomplishment at the League’s Innovations conference in Dallas, March 10 – 13.

LSC-University Park is the newest Lone Star College System college and includes one of the two LSCS university centers. The campus is located at the corner of State Highway 249 and Louetta Road across from Vintage Park. For more information about LSC-University Park, call 281.290.2600 or visit LoneStar.edu./UP.

Lone Star College System has been opening doors to a better community for 40 years. Founded in 1973, LSCS remains steadfast in its commitment to student success and credential completion. Today, with 78,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 90,000, Lone Star College System is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and the fastest-growing community college system in the nation. Dr. Richard Carpenter is the chancellor of LSCS, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, five centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.

Make LSC part of your story.