LSC-University Park Establishes Chapter of Psi Beta Honor Society

LSC-University Park welcomed accomplished students and one faculty member into Psi Beta, the prestigious National Honor Society for Psychology for Community and Junior Colleges, on Tuesday, March 17. The new chapter's faculty advisor is Cherry, H. Sawyerr, Professor of Psychology. Students D'Marcus Thibodeaux and Sierra Rupert serve respectively as president and vice president.

Student inductees include Jeffrey Burge, Stephanie Donahoe, Madiha Hussain, Marla McLaughlin, Abigail Montoya, chapter delegate; Charles Rosser, treasurer; and Frida Vasquez, secretary. In addition, Professor Leslie LaPres was inducted into the organization as a faculty member. Sawyerr, LaPres and Nicole Stalnaker, adjunct faculty member in psychology, will serve as the group's faculty representatives.

Psi Beta's Mission is to encourage professional development and psychological literacy of all students at two-year colleges through promotion and recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership, research and community service.

Make LSC part of your story.