× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

LSC-Montgomery English Department

What is English?

student with backpack on desk in a classroomEnglish classes range from developmental reading and writing, to college-level freshman classes including composition and rhetoric, technical and creative writing to sophomore literature. Several classes are offered via LSC-Online. Technology is an integral part of the classroom experience.

 

What We Value.

Our students come from diverse backgrounds, with multi-faceted needs, and hopes for an education. As teachers, we value lifelong and academic literacies, hoping to inspire students to seek knowledge for its own sake and solve problems for personal and practical applications. Because we are experienced guides, we urge students to take agency and control of their learning, but we also hope to become partners in this learning. We wish to help them understand themselves as students at various stages of their education and show them how to make choices for their education, whether on campus or through LSC-Online.

English faculty teach a variety of courses and serve on numerous committees dealing with a broad range of issues, including: curriculum, district and campus initiatives, Achieving the Dream, faculty development, assessment, International Education, Writing across the Curriculum, Swirl (our Zine), Writers in Performance, Sigma Kappa Delta (English honors society), sponsorship of student organizations, and much more.

Faculty & Staff

Name

Phone

Email

Office

Brandy Harvey
Dean

936.273.7265

Brandy.A.Harvey@LoneStar.edu

G-120B

Beverley Turner
Chair, English and Developmental English

936.273.7226

Beverley.Turner@LoneStar.edu

G-221A

Simone Andrade
Professor

936.271.6189

Simone.D.Andrade@LoneStar.edu

G-121I

Sheryl Clark
Professor

936.271.6335

Sheryl.A.Clark@LoneStar.edu

G-220F

Kirk Cochran
Professor

936.271.6373

Kirk.Cochran@LoneStar.edu 

G-121E

Melissa Dennis
Professor

936.273.7326

Melissa.H.Dennis@LoneStar.edu 

G-220A

Naomi Fernandez
Professor

936.271.6151

Naomi.R.Fernandez@LoneStar.edu  

G-220D

Chrisoula Gonzales
Professor

936.271.6156

Chrisoula.Gonzales@LoneStar.edu

G-220E

Ron Heckelman
Professor

936.273.7023

Ronald.J.Heckelman@LoneStar.edu

G-221I

Cliff Hudder
Professor

936.273.7399

Clifford.W.Hudder@LoneStar.edu

G-120F

Lori Hughes
Professor

936.273.7005

Lori.R.Hughes@lonestar.edu

G-220I

Molly Lasco
Professor

936.271.6334

Mary.Lasco@lonestar.edu

G-121C

Ulysses Mack
Professor

936.271.6337

Ulysses.B.Mack@lonestar.edu

G-121D

Lana Myers
Professor

936.273.7053

Lana.C.Myers@lonestar.edu

G-221G

Basnagoda Rahula
Professor

936.273.7347

Basnagoda.Rahula@lonestar.edu

G-121F

Roy Turner
Professor

936.273.7465

Roy.D.Turner@lonestar.edu

G-121G

Haley Stoner
Professor

936.271.2439

Haley.K.Stoner@lonestar.edu

G-220H

David Zimmermann
Professor

936.273.7267

David.H.Zimmermann@lonestar.edu

G-121L

 

 

 

Make LSC part of your story.