LSC COVID-19 Update: Learn how LSC is preparing for the 2020 fall semester. ×



I.A.1.01. College Legal Name and Status

Lone Star College’s legal name is “Lone Star College System District”—abbreviated in this document to “College”.

The College exists under the Texas Constitution and Education Code. The College was legally established on October 7, 1972, as a public junior college district and classified as a union junior college. The College is an institution of higher education under Texas law.

I.A.1.02. Definitions

(a)  Service Area means (i) the territory within the boundaries of the taxing district of a junior college district; and (ii) the territory outside the boundaries of the taxing district of a junior college district in which the junior college district provides services (courses and programs described in Sections 130.0011 and 130.003(e), Education Code).

(b) College means, when capitalized, the Lone Star College System District. When not capitalized (i.e., “college”), it means one or more of the member-colleges constituting the Lone Star College System District.

I.A.1.03. College Service Area and Taxing Boundaries

The College’s Service Area includes the territory within (i) Aldine, Cleveland, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Klein, New Caney, Magnolia, Montgomery, Splendora, Spring, Tarkington, Tomball, Waller, and Willis independent school districts in Harris, Montgomery, and/or San Jacinto Counties; and (ii) Huntsville and New Waverly independent school districts in Walker County.

Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Splendora, Spring, Tomball, and Willis independent school districts are within the College’s taxing boundaries. Cleveland, Huntsville, Montgomery, New Waverly, Tarkington, and Waller independent school districts are outside the College’s taxing boundaries.

I.A.1.04. College Boundaries and New Campuses or College Districts

The College may annex territory or create a new campus or college district in accordance with state law.

LSCS Policy Manual Section adopted by the Board of Trustees on December 1, 2016

Make LSC part of your story.