LSC-CyFair Phi Theta Kappa Students Named Leaders of Promise Scholars

Meghan Lane, Hope Monaghan, and Lisa Opoku are among five Lone Star College-CyFair students  who were named 2023 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars.
Meghan Lane, Hope Monaghan, and Lisa Opoku are among five Lone Star College-CyFair students who were named 2023 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars.

Five Phi Theta Kappa students at Lone Star College-CyFair have been named a 2023 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar, based on outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership potential, and have earned a $1,000 scholarship.  

Among the 213 Leaders of Promise scholarship recipients chosen from nearly 1,100 applicants are LSC-CyFair’s Meghan Lane, Hope Monaghan, Lisa Opoku, Santiago Galindo Naranja and Hoang Nguyen (who received one of the 25 Military Leaders of Promise Scholarships earmarked for members who are veterans or active members of the United States military.)

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”

Lane, who is from British Columbia Canada, is a recipient of the Global Leaders of Promise Scholarship, which is earmarked for international students and supported by donations to the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation. With a passion for helping people, she works as a Falcon Leader in the Student Outreach and Recruitment Department and plans to earn a Diagnostic Medical Sonography degree.

My career goal is to focus on OBGYN care because I think human development is extremely fascinating and plays a vital role in a woman’s life. This stage of life is one of the most memorable things for a lot of people and being able to be a part of that is something I look forward to,” Lane said.

Monaghan, who is also a recipient of the Jacque D. Holman Endowment through the LSC Foundation, plans to transfer to the Management Information Systems program at the University of Texas at Austin.

“Growing up in a family-owned restaurant made me want to make operating a business as painless as possible by providing a problem-solving attitude and steadfast compassion,” said Monaghan, Student Government Association Vice President of Records and Finance.

Opoku, who is also a Qwock Lem and Kim Yoke Lau Endowment recipient, plans to transfer Columbus State University in Georgia on her path to becoming a Cybersecurity Analyst.

After her first “IT Essentials” class and further exploration of CISCO Networking Academy IT careers, this LSC-CyFair work-study student and Black Student Union Community Outreach Officer has a goal to earn a master’s and ultimately a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification.

For information on Phi Theta Kappa scholarships and benefits, go to ptk.org. The LSC-CyFair spring scholarships and endowments application deadline is Oct.1.

It’s not too late to register for fall classes. Check out the Next Start classes that range from eight to 14 weeks. For information, go to LoneStar.edu/Class-Start-Options.

Make LSC part of your story.