× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC-North Harris inducts 82 students into honor society

The Lone Star College-North Harris Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its fall 2015 induction ceremony on November 3, inducting 82 students. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges and is the oldest honor society in the United States, founded in 1918.

To receive an invitation to Phi Theta Kappa, students must have at least 12 hours of completed coursework that must be applied towards an associate degree; must earn a cumulative grade point average of 3.5; and adhere to the standards of the Society.  

According to Laura Dupree, Alpha Alpha Rho chapter advisor, “The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is two-fold: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.”

Dupree added that the Alpha Alpha Rho chapter at LSC-North Harris has a rich history. Chartered in 1974, the chapter has received more than 200 international and regional awards, including the “Texas Top Chapter” award, the “Top 100 Chapter” award as well as the prestigious “Distinguished Chapter – Top 25” award.

The following LSC-North Harris students were inducted into the honor society: LaQeisha Alex, Henry Amaya, Nadjim Amzal, Helena Bailey, Zachery Barber, Faith Baynard, Fatimah Bhuiyan, Veronica Brown, Margaret Buhrer, Carol Campbell, Marra R. Cantu, Julio Carrizales, Aaquilah Chambers, Denis Chesah, Diana DeLaTorre, Eisy Esquivel, Kiel Fernandez, Emilce D. Flores, Jeremy W. Fregia, Eunice A. Gallegos, Melissa V. Garcia, Stephen Garcia, Alomene M. Gonzalez, Carlos Gonzalez, Stephanie L. Gonzalez, Michele Goodwin, Anass E. Guermai, Travis Hand, Luisana I. Harris, Daniel Hernandez, Dominique Hunter, Jakob Joachin, Victoria Johnson, Jennifer Ketron, Kirk Kronenberger, Destiny D. Laramore, Lisa LaStrap-Turner, Natoslyn Leach, Andrea Madison, Laquecia M. Malave, Jusin Malbreaux, Runetta Martain, Gabriela Martinez, Kyle McLaughlin, Mariana Meras, Yvonne Moore, Imelda Morales, Alexandra Moreno, Cecilia Nguyen, Duong Nguyen, Tram Nguyen, Andrea Orellana, Brittany Pitcher, Omar Radwan, Jaime Ramirez, Mariana Ramirez, Stephanie Ramirez, Alayka Ramos, Saif Rehman, Jose L. Reyes-Rodas, Jayla Richardson, Orlando Rivera, Charles Roberts, Adriana Rodriguez, Alfredo Rodriguez, Benita Sabu, Beatriz Elena Sanchez-Romeo, Jocelyn Sauceda, Jessica Selim, Jacob Sondergaard, Amanda Spain-Butts, Cody J. Stein, Jose Tello, Noelle Thurman, Yot Tos, Phuc Tran, Thao Tran, Xuan Tran, Erick Vazquez, Courtney Wiederhold, KeAire Williams and Nina Yates.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official International Honor Society of the two-year college. The honor society boasts more that 1.4 million members and 1,400 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Lone Star College-North Harris is located at 2700 W.W. Thorne Drive, one-half mile south of FM 1960 East, between Aldine-Westfield and Hardy Roads. For more information about the college, call 281.618.5400 or visit LoneStar.edu/NorthHarris.

Lone Star College has been opening doors to a better community for more than 40 years. Founded in 1973, LSC remains steadfast in its commitment to student success and credential completion. Today, with almost 83,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 95,000, Lone Star College is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area and one of the fastest-growing community colleges in the nation. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., is the chancellor of LSC, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, seven centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.