× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC-University Park’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter receives top awards

HOUSTON – Lone Star College-University Park’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society chapter, Beta Epsilon Nu, was recognized with three Texas regional awards, five international awards and Five Star Chapter status at the honor society’s centennial Hallmark Awards Gala in Kansas City, Missouri, April 21.


Beta Epsilon Nu earned the Regional College Project Award of Merit, the Regional Honors in Action Project Award of Distinction, the Texas Top Chapter Award, the International Top 100 Chapter Award, the Distinguished Theme Award Honors in Action, and the Distinguished Chapter Award, which is presented to the top 4 percent of chapters based on project scores. An estimated 4,600 attended the gala.


PTK also presented Dr. Shah Ardalan, LSC-University Park president, with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction. The Shirley B. Gordon Award is the most prestigious PTK award honoring college presidents who demonstrate outstanding effort toward promoting the academic achievement of students and providing opportunities for students to develop leadership skills. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the PTK Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College in Washington. Ardalan was nominated by LSC-University Park faculty and students. 


“I am proud to accept this award and honor because of all that it means for our students,” said Ardalan. “Since its inception, LSC-University Park’s PTK chapter, Beta Epsilon Nu, has created opportunities for our students to succeed academically and develop leadership skills that pave their way to success in their professional careers. It is rewarding for me to support student organizations like PTK that help us advance students to completion and become productive citizens engaged in our community.”


Sponsor Frank Rodriguez, LSC-University Park professor of math and recipient of the District IV Horizon Award for Advisers in 2017, noted that Ardalan has encouraged Beta Epsilon Nu and its students from its first year at the college.


“Dr. Ardalan has been very supportive and it really shows in how successful our chapter and our members have been,” said Rodriguez. “Thanks to Dr. Ardalan’s openness to letting students take ownership of their college experience, our members have taken the lead in creating projects that help them and their peers realize their ultimate career goals.”


PTK is the premier honor society that recognizes the academic achievements of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helps students grow as scholars and leaders. The honor society has more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. PTK is the oldest honor society for community college students, and the only one founded by college presidents. For more information about the honor society, visit PTK.org.

For more information: