× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

International honors and outstanding recognition

DEX Students and Advisor Earn International Recognition

Lone Star College-CyFair’s Delta Epsilon Chi (DEX) returned from the recent International Career Development Conference in Anaheim, California with several honors.

LSC-CyFair students Donald Smith and Ronnie Maduzia competed in the Business-to-Business Marketing event and received top 10 finalist medals.

Individual honors went to Smith, who received the Texas Leadership Award, and Melinda Becker, who earned the Texas Advisor of the Year Award.

In addition, the chapter’s work with Bear Creek Assistance Ministries and Boys & Girls Country in Hockley was recognized with a community service award.

“I’m very proud of our students, their representation of our school and their accomplishments which are further evidence of their passion for education, community service and leadership,” said Becker.

DEX is an international association of Marketing, Management and Entrepreneur students. More than 1,500 students, representing the United States, Puerto Rico and Canada, participated in leadership workshops and competed in various business events.

For information on the DEX chapter at LSC-CyFair, call Becker at 281-290-3284.

Beta Lambda Mu Gives Presentations and Earns International Honors

Lone Star College-CyFair Beta Lambda Mu Chapter officers and advisors attended, presented and won several honors at the recent Phi Theta Kappa International Convention held in Grapevine, Texas.

Beta Lambda Mu Chapter’s five officers and two advisors had the privilege presenting two educational forums at the convention to attendees from across the world. The first presentation was based on chapter use of the Phi Theta Kappa “Honors Satellite Series” lecture series as a part of scholarship activities which Beta Lambda Mu offered on campus under the current study topic “The Paradox of Affluence, Choices, Challenges and Consequences.” The second presentation was on the development of chapter officers, emphasizing scholarship, leadership, and service skills that are encouraged in the process of serving as an officer of the LSC-CyFair chapter. 

At the convention’s awards gala, the LSC-CyFair chapter was also honored with a Cordier Scholarship from the Gaylord Convention Center for active participation as educational forum presenters. The chapter was also recognized as a Five-Star Chapter, a Pinnacle Award winner for outstanding chapter membership services and as one of the top 100 chapters in Phi Theta Kappa International.

Esther Robinson, who is co-advisor of the Beta Lambda Mu Chapter, received a Paragon Award for Outstanding New Advisors.

In addition, Beta Lambda Mu Chapter’s past president Dehua Lea, who is currently a student at the University of St. Thomas, was recognized as a 2009 Coca-Cola National Finalist, which includes a $1,000 scholarship. Lea was also honored as a member of both the All-Texas Academic Team and the All-USA Academic Team.

For information on the Beta Lambda Mu Chapter, contact Robinson at 281-290-3994 or via e-mail at Esther.M.Robinson@LoneStar.edu

Student Awards Banquet Recognizes Outstanding Achievements

Along with the academic achievements being celebrated as another semester closes, are the outstanding achievements of students in the more than 40 Lone Star College-CyFair student organizations.

“The clubs are not just fun but help enhance the overall educational experience of students through social, cultural and intellectual activities,” said Holly Williams, Student Activities Program Manager. “Student clubs also provide opportunities for students to compete for scholarships and awards as well as to gain leadership, organization and teamwork skills.”

The recent Student Awards Banquet highlighted the variety of clubs available and recognized the impact such clubs, students and sponsors, make across the campus and in the community.

Award winners follow:
Outstanding Club of the Year --- Tennis Team
Outstanding New Club of the Year --- Women’s Soccer
Outstanding Club Member of the Year --- Andra Yanchenko
Outstanding Club Officer of the Year --- Donald Smith
Outstanding Sponsor of the Year --- Larry Norris
Outstanding Service Learning Student(s) of the Year --- Hana Choi and Beatriz Lavalle
Student Activities Unsung Hero Award --- Nobell Vasquez

For information on student organizations, go to CyFair.LoneStar.edu/studentactivities or call Williams at 281-290-3270.