×

Communities In Schools of Houston

Communities in Schools Logo

About Us

We are a nationwide network of passionate professionals working as an addition to Lone Star College campuses, surrounding students with a community of support and empowering them to stay in school and achieve in life. We serve students system wide, so it doesn't matter as long as they are currently enrolled (not dual-credit or LSC-online).

hands positioned in a circle

Support & Guidance and Counseling

hands holding a heart

Providing students with individual supportive guidance and counseling and facilitating support groups to help them manage their emotions and interactions with peers, addressing issues such as grief and loss, depression, low self-esteem, anger management, anxiety, and more.

  • Family and Personal Concerns
  • Crisis Intervention: Grief and Trauma
  • Strategies for Managing Stress, Anxiety, and Depression
  • Relationship-Skills Training

Please use our Contact and Help Form for more.

Human Services 

hands holding
Linking students via referrals to local service agencies to meet basic needs involving food, clothing, housing, transportation, employment, rent and utility assistance, as well as referrals for crisis intervention, medical, dental, and mental health issues.

  • Emergency Needs: Food, Shelter and Clothing
  • Mental Health & Community Resource Referrals
  • More

 Academic & Personal Skills  

hand holding a graduation cap

We offer students guidance and support in areas such as time management, study techniques, organization, and effective communication. Moreover, we emphasize goal setting, working closely with students to define and pursue their aspirations. Through our tailored approach, we assist students in honing their skills, building confidence, and achieving their goals both inside and outside of the classroom.

  • Social and Life Skills Support
  • Positive Self-image and Self-worth
  • Academic Support and Counseling
  • Goal Setting
  • More

More about our Support and Services: https://www.cishouston.org/what-we-do

hand interacting with a mobile device

It is not uncommon for college students to experience symptoms of depression and anxiety. As a Texas resident currently enrolled at Lone Star College, you have access to valuable resources for support. Communities In Schools provides a 24/7 Emotional Support Line at (844) 844-4007. This helpline offers emotional support and connects students to relevant resources within their service area.

If you are in crisis, please reach out to one of the following resources for immediate assistance:

  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-8255 (TALK)
  • Tri-County Behavioral Healthcare Crisis Line 1-800-659-6994
  • The Harris Center 713-970-7000 option 1
  • Crisis Text Line: Text CONNECT to 741741
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 800-799-7233
  • Lone Star College Police: 281.290.5911

Remember, if you are facing a life-threatening emergency, please dial 911. Your safety and well-being are of utmost importance.

graphic of a cursor

LSC Students can can also fill out our Contact and Help Form and a CIS team member will respond to your request within two business days. While CIS hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, we work with students to make appointments that work for them. We offer appointments on evenings and Saturdays as needed and can meet in-person, over the phone, or virtually.

You can also find our individual campus contacts below. Feel free to call or email.

For more information please visit: https://www.cishouston.org/

Currently enrolled LSC Students are eligible for services. Does not include Dual Credit or LSC Online students.

Lone Star College Campuses Contacts

Kimberly Alvarez, LMSW
Program Manager
KAlvarez@CIS-Houston.org
Kimberly.Alvarez@LoneStar.edu
832-745-5032
Office CASA 109F

Frank Sreshta, LPC
Service Coordinator

fsreshta@cis-houston.org
Frank.Sreshta@LoneStar.edu
281-290-3424
CASA 109D

Jennifer Davis, LPC
Program Manager
JDavis@cis-houston.org
Jennifer.Davis@LoneStar.edu
832-920-5073
Office CY131
C. Julian Barnwell-Joseph, LPC
Program Manager
carol.barnwell-joseph@LoneStar.edu
LSC email TBD
346-378-7585
Office 106

Dr. Chantee Kazeem, LMSW
Program Manager HN-Fallbrook

Chantee.Kazeem@LoneStar.edu
281-836-9561
Fallbrook 210

Adriana R. Cedillo, LMSW
Program Manager HN-Greenspoint
ACedillo@cis-houston.org
Adriana.Cedillo@LoneStar.edu
281-260-3820
Student Services 109.4

Leeah Fleming, LMSW
Program Manager HN-Victory

Artruh.L.Fleming@LoneStar.edu
281-810-5659
Victory 104 B

Alexa Foster, LMSW,
Coverage Specialist HN-Fairbanks
AFoster@cis-houston.org
Alexa.Foster@LoneStar.edu
281-836-9561
Office Number 210

Titania Jackson, LMSW
Program Manager
TJackson@CIS-Houston.org
Titania.Jackson@LoneStar.edu
281-312-8408
Office TIB 209-D

Beverly Benjamin, LPC-A
Service Coordinator
Bbenjamin-bubb@CIS-Houston.org
Beverly.Benjamin@LoneStar.edu
281-312-8493 / 936-521-4562
Office TIB 209-B

Samuel Robinson, MCD
Service Coordinator
SRobinson@CIS-Houston.org
Samuel.Robinson@LoneStar.edu
281-312-1735
Office TIB 209-C

Ashley Shell, LMFT, LPC -Consultation Support Team
Program Manager
AShell@CIS-Houston.org
Ashley.L.Shell@LoneStar.edu
936-273-7426
MSC Building Office 262

Anastasia Moen, LMSW
Service Coordinator
AMoen@CIS-Houston.org
Anastasia.Moen@LoneStar.edu
936-271-6321
MSC Building Office 263

Danyelle Williams, LMSW
Program Manager
Dmwilliams@cis-houston.org
Danyelle.M.Williams@LoneStar.edu
281-618-7144 
Academic Building, Room 200A (Learning Center)

Valerie Gonzalez, LMSW
Program Manager 
Vgonzalez@cis-houston.org 
Valerie.GonzalezMedina@LoneStar.edu
832-559-4216
E211E
Sophia Phillips, LMSW
Program Manager

sphillips@cis-houston.org
Sophia.J.Phillips@LoneStar.edu
832-761-6609 LSC-Creekside Center, Office 117E (Wed. and Thurs in office)
281-826-5354 LSC-Health Science Building, Office 115 (Monday, Tuesday, and Friday in office)
8am-4pm

Linda Leon, LCSW
Program Manager
LLeon@CIS-Houston.org
Linda.I.Leon@LoneStar.edu
281-655-3753
Building 12, Suite 232B

Kelsea Grant, LPC
Service Coordinator
KGrant@CIS-Houston.org
Kelsea.Grant@LoneStar.edu
281-290-3741
Building 12, Suite 232D

Sarah Slaughter, LPC
Service Coordinator
SSlaughter@CIS-Houston.org
sarah.slaughter@lonestar.edu
281-655-3761
Building 12, Suite 232A

photo of a woman graduating

Learn More

Related

 

Make LSC part of your story.