×

Communities In Schools of Houston

 Communities in Schools Logo

Who We Are

The Communities In Schools of Houston program addresses the national problem of low 
college completion rates by providing on-campus support. We are a nationwide network 
of passionate professionals working as an addition to Lone Star College. Our mission is 
to surround students with a community of support, empowering them to stay in school 
and achieve in life. We serve students that are currently enrolled*.
*not available to dual-credit and LSC Online Program students.

hands positioned in a circle

Free Confidential Guidance & Counseling

hands holding a heart

Providing students with individual supportive guidance and counseling and facilitating support groups to help them manage their emotions and interactions with peers, addressing issues such as grief and loss, depression, low self-esteem, anger management, anxiety, and more.

  • Family and Personal Concerns
  • Crisis Intervention: Grief and Trauma
  • Strategies for Managing Stress, Anxiety, and Depression
  • Relationship-Skills Training

Please use our Contact and Help Form for more.

Health & Human Services 

hands holding

Linking students through personalized support, agency partnerships, community referrals to remove barriers to success. Areas of support include but are not limited involving food, clothing, housing, transportation, employment, medical, dental, and mental health issues

 Skills for Success in College & Adulthood  

hand holding a graduation cap

We offer students guidance and support in areas such as time management, study techniques, organization, and effective communication. Moreover, we emphasize goal setting, working closely with students to define and pursue their aspirations. Through our tailored approach, we assist students in honing their skills, building confidence, and achieving their goals both inside and outside of the classroom.

  • Social and Life Skills Support
  • Positive Self-image and Self-worth
  • Academic Support and Counseling
  • Goal Setting
  • More

More about our Support and Services: https://www.cishouston.org/what-we-do

hand interacting with a mobile device

It is not uncommon for college students to experience symptoms of depression and anxiety. As a Texas resident currently enrolled at Lone Star College, you have access to valuable resources for support. Communities In Schools provides a 24/7 Emotional Support Line at (844) 844-4007. This helpline offers emotional support and connects students to relevant resources within their service area.

If you are in crisis, please reach out to one of the following resources for immediate assistance:

  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-8255 (TALK)
  • Tri-County Behavioral Healthcare Crisis Line 1-800-659-6994
  • The Harris Center 713-970-7000 option 1
  • Crisis Text Line: Text CONNECT to 741741
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 800-799-7233
  • Lone Star College Police: 281.290.5911

Remember, if you are facing a life-threatening emergency, please dial 911. Your safety and well-being are of utmost importance.

graphic of a cursor

LSC Students can can also fill out our Contact and Help Form and a CIS team member will respond to your request within two business days. While CIS hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, we work with students to make appointments that work for them. We offer appointments on evenings and Saturdays as needed and can meet in-person, over the phone, or virtually.

You can also find our individual campus contacts below. Feel free to call or email.

For more information please visit: https://www.cishouston.org/

Currently enrolled LSC Students are eligible for services. Does not include Dual Credit or LSC Online students.

Lone Star College Campuses Contacts

Victoria Cobio, MA
Program Manager
vmedina@cis-houston.org 
Victoria.Cobio@LoneStar.edu
832-775-0814
Office AC 120 (library)

April Mendiola, MS
Program Manager

AMendolia@CIS-Houston.org
April.R.Mendliola@LoneStar.edu
936-521-4562
Office CC-103B (Library)

Kimberly Alvarez, LCSW
Program Manager

KAlvarez@CIS-Houston.org
Kimberly.Alvarez@LoneStar.edu
832-745-5032
Office CASA 109F

Frank Sreshta, LPC
Service Coordinator

FSreshta@CIS-Houston.org
Frank.Sreshta@LoneStar.edu
281-290-3424
Office CASA 109D

Norma Lopez
Service Coordinator

Nlopez2@CIS-Houston.org
Norma.Lopez@LoneStar.edu
281-290-3261
Office CASA 109E

Deresha Gibson, LMSW
Part-Time Service Coordinator

DGibson@CIS-Houston.org
Deresha.Gibson@LoneStar.edu
832-482-1041
Office CASA 109

Jennifer Davis, LPC
Program Manager
JDavis@CIS-Houston.org
Jennifer.Davis@LoneStar.edu
832-920-5073
Office CY131
Jonathan Johnson
Program Manager
jjohnson2@cis-houston.org 
jonathan.johnson@lonestar.edu  
346-378-7585
Office 106

Dr. Chantee Kazeem, LMSW 
Program Manager HN Fallbrook 

CKazeem@CIS-Houston.org
Chantee.Kazeem@LoneStar.edu
281-836-9561
Office 210

C. Julian Barnwell-Joseph, LPC
Program Manager HN-Fairbanks
cbarnwell-joseph@cis-houston.org 
carol.barnwell-joseph@lonestar.edu
832-782-5140
Office 222C

Adriana R. Cedillo, LMSW 
Program Manager HN-Greenspoint 
acedillo@cis-houston.org 
adriana.cedillo@lonestar.edu 
281-260-3820 
Office 109.4 (Student Services) 

Leeah Fleming, MS, MFT
Program Manager HN-Victory 

LFleming@CIS-Houston.org 
Artruh.L.Fleming@LoneStar.edu 
281-810-5659 
Office 104 B

Thalia Polanco, MSW
Program Manager
TPolanco@CIS-Houston.org
Thalia.Polanco@Lonestar.edu
281-312-8408
Office TIB 209-D

Destinee Davis 
Service Coordinator 

ddavis@cis-houston.org 
destinee.davis@lonestar.edu 
281-312-1735 
Office TIB 209-C 

Erica Jordan, MSW 
Program Manager 

Ejordan@CISi-Houston.org
936-273-7426 
Building C: C231H

Anastasia Porter, LMSW
Service Coordinator
APorter@CIS-Houston.org
Anastasia.Moen@LoneStar.edu
936-271-6321
Building C: C227E

Tammy McShepard, MS, LCDC, 
Service Coordinator

TMcShepard@CIS-Houston.org
Tammy.McShepard@LoneStar.edu
936-273-7279
Building C

Danyelle Williams, LMSW
Program Manager
Dmwilliams@CIS-Houston.org
Danyelle.M.Williams@LoneStar.edu
281-618-7144 
Office A217G, Academics Building

Katelyn Killian
Service Coordinator

KKillian@CIS-Houston.org
Katelyn.Killian@LoneStar.edu
281-618-5516
Office A217H, Academics Building

Heather Ozuna 
Service Coordinator 

hozuna@cis-houston.org 
heather.ozuna@lonestar.edu 
281-618-5739 
Office A217E, Academics Building 

Valerie Gonzalez, LMSW
Program Manager 
vmedinagonzalez@cis-houston.org 
Valerie.GonzalezMedina@LoneStar.edu
832-559-4216
Office E211E

Shirley Smith, MSW
Service Coordinator

ssmith@cis-houston.org
Shirley.Smith@LoneStar.edu
281-401-1852
Office E211C 

Sophia Phillips, LMSW
Program Manager

Sphillips@CIS-Houston.org
Sophia.J.Phillips@LoneStar.edu
832-761-6609 LSC-Creekside Center, Office 117E (Wed. and Thurs in office)
281-826-5354 LSC-Health Science Building, Office 115 (Monday, Tuesday, and Friday in office)
8am-4pm

Linda Leon, LCSW-S
Program Manager
LLeon@CIS-Houston.org
Linda.I.Leon@LoneStar.edu
281-655-3753
Building 12, Suite 232B

Anjela Ramon, MSW
Service Coordinator

aramon@CIS-Houston.org
anjela.g.ramon@lonestar.edu 
281-290-2738 
Building 12, Suite 232C

Angelique McAnally, MS
Service Coordinator

amcanally@CIS-Houston.org
Angelique.Mcanally@LoneStar.edu
281-290-3741
Building 12, Suite 232B

photo of a woman graduating

Learn More

 

Make LSC part of your story.