× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Two Montgomery College Initiatives Named as Star Award Finalists

Two Montgomery College initiatives—the MC Biotechnology Institute and the Math Learning Outcomes Assessment Lab—earned finalist recognition at the Star Awards, sponsored by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

The Star Awards recognize programs in higher education that make an exceptional contribution toward one or more of the state’s Closing the Gaps plan. These must involve participation, success, excellence or research. Only 17 programs (out of 50 applicants) earned finalist status statewide.

The mission of the MC Biotechnology Institute is to prepare students for all levels of entry into the biotechnology industry and to meet the industry's workforce and continuing education needs.

The Math Learning Outcome Assessment Lab uses technology and a flexible schedule to help pre-algebra, introductory algebra and intermediate algebra students better retain course material by testing outcomes individually throughout the course, versus just taking a test covering all information at the end of the semester.

Both programs are models of excellence among community colleges throughout the U.S.

Pictured (l. to r.) are: Karen Palmer, director of resource development; Maureen Loiacano, professor and chair of mathematics; Deborah Ellington, instructional dean; Dr. Julie Leidig, vice president of instruction; Dr. Larry Loomis-Price, professor and director of the MC Biotechnology Institute; and Ron Dewlen, instructional dean.

For more information about Montgomery College, visit montgomery.lonestar.edu, or call (936) 273-7000. Montgomery College is located at 3200 College Park Drive, approximately one-quarter mile west of I-45 between Conroe and The Woodlands.

North Harris Montgomery Community College District, among the largest and fastest-growing community colleges in Texas, comprises North Harris College, Kingwood College, Tomball College, Montgomery College, Cy-Fair College, six satellite centers and The University Center.