× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Radiology students win state honors

Winning top honors in a recent state leadership competition were three Lone Star College-CyFair Medical Radiology Technology program students.

Under the direction of club sponsor Marsha Dougherty, 15 LSC-CyFair Radiology Student Association members attended the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists annual meeting held in South Padre Island. 

Sameera Quaid took first-place, Nicole Pierce took second and Bradley Wilbanks captured the third in the Student Leadership Competition, which includes an oral conference presentation in front of nearly 200 other students. 

In addition, students participated in the Student Bee and Scientific Poster Display Competition. Other conference attendees included Ricky Kawaja, Michael Lynde, Don Cilurso, Amy Polasek, Ansouka Sam, Catherine Adedipe, Sonia Khanh, Mary Anne Hunt, Huma Samad, Ashley Richmond, Renee Drake and Yanghua Zhang.

Jo Fey, Dean of Social, Behavioral and Health Sciences, congratulates the students on their efforts and achievements and offers a special thanks Dougherty and the rest of the Medical Radiology Technology department including Larry Norris, Denise DeGennaro, and Cynthia Robertson, program director.

“This department consistently encourages the professional development and presentation skills of their students and were all in attendance to see their students give such outstanding performances,” said Fey.

For information on the Medical Radiology Technology department, call Robertson at 281-290-3966 or visit the program web site.