LSCS faculty members get excellence awards

(June 10, 2010) Twenty Lone Star College System faculty members were recognized recently for faculty excellence by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development.

NISOD hosted its annual conference in Austin May 30-June 2 and on the last day of the event an awards luncheon was hosted for more than 1,300 faculty, staff and community college administrators from across the nation. The 20 LSCS faculty members, which included representatives from all five Lone Star Colleges, were recognized for their teaching and leadership excellence in higher education. Recipients included:

Lone Star College-CyFair
 Melinda Becker
 Dean Campa
 Sharon Miller
 Clay White

Lone Star College-Kingwood
 Nickie Loftin
 Raúl Reyes
 Eric Skiles
 Diane Wilson

Lone Star College-Montgomery
 Paullett Golden
 Cliff Hudder
 Larry Loomis-Price
 Rajiv Malkan

Lone Star College-North Harris
 Gwen Charvis
 Megan Franks
 Julie Kendall
 Bruce Machart

Lone Star College-Tomball
 Judy Harris
 Irina Nizova
 V.C. Patel
 William Simcik

Since 1978, NISOD has been dedicated to the professional development of faculty, administrators and staff; and to the continued improvement of teaching and learning, with the ultimate goal of student success. NISOD is the outreach vehicle and service arm to the Community College Leadership Program at The University of Texas at Austin, a doctoral-level program that has been training community college presidents, vice presidents and deans for 60 years.  NISOD has a membership of more than 700 community colleges from around the world.

With more than 62,000 students in credit classes in spring 2010, and a total enrollment of nearly 85,000, Lone Star College System is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area, and the second largest and the fastest-growing community college system in Texas. LSCS consists of five colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, and LSC-Tomball, six centers, LSC-University Park, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit