× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSCS SBDC part of network that gets accreditation again

(Aug. 4, 2010) – The University of Houston Small Business Development Center Network, which includes the Lone Star College System SBDC, announced its recent accreditation by the Association of Small Business Development Centers.

Successful accreditation is based on adherence to a set of standards modeled after the Malcolm Baldrige quality standards, and involves a stringent, weeklong examination of network leadership, strategy development, customer and stakeholder focus, performance measurement, staffing and human resources, design and delivery of services, and economic impact results.

Small Business Development Centers are required to be re-accredited every four years, and this was the fourth successful round of accreditation for the UH SBDC Network.

“I am so proud of each person and every center in our network.  Everyone worked hard to prepare for our review and represented the network extremely well throughout the entire accreditation process,” said Mike Young, UH SBDC Network executive director. “This accomplishment demonstrates our organization’s and our partners’ commitment to continuous quality improvement and gives us added credibility as a key player in the economic development arena.” 

The LSCS SBDC, created in 1985, is the first and oldest of the 15 centers included in the UH SBDC Network. The center, which marked its 25th anniversary this year, provides no-cost, confidential management advice and affordable business skills training to entrepreneurs and small business owners in northern Harris and southern Montgomery counties. Its service area mirrors that of LSCS and covers more than 1,400 square miles.

With more than 62,000 students in credit classes in spring 2010, and a total enrollment of nearly 85,000, Lone Star College System is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area, and the second largest and the fastest-growing community college system in Texas. LSCS consists of five colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, and LSC-Tomball, six centers, LSC-University Park, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.