× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

LSC-North Harris Speech Team Wins Third National Title of the Year

The Lone Star College-North Harris speech team wrapped up the spring semester by winning its third national title of the year. The team recently added a championship at the American Readers Theater Association's National Tournament. Their list of wins also include a top ranking at the American Forensics Association's (AFA) National Tournament, which features competitors from two-year and four-year colleges, and in the Hindman Division of this year's Phi Rho Pi National Tournament for two-year colleges only.

In addition to being named national champion at the American Readers Theater Association tournament, LSC-North Harris was also selected as the Audience Choice Award winner, and a number of LSC-North Harris students received individual awards.

Kaybee Brown was named Best Male Performer. Teammate Gregory Carker was also nominated in the same category. 

Three LSC-North Harris Students were nominated as Best Female Performer. Balencia Crosby, Amanda Philio and Kayla Mason were all in the running, with Crosby taking the top prize.

Brown, Carker and Philio joined forces to bring home the Best Ensemble Cast award, while Crosby, Kayla Mason, Shylah Salas and Tracia Wendling were each recognized in the Best Costume category.

The team competes under the direction of LSC-North Harris professors Wade Hescht and Casey Garcia.

Lone Star College-North Harris is located at 2700 W.W. Thorne Drive, one-half mile south of FM 1960 East, between Aldine-Westfield and Hardy Roads. For more information about the college, call 281.618.5400 or visit LoneStar.edu/NorthHarris.

With 75,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 90,000, Lone Star College System is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area, and the fastest-growing community college system in Texas. Dr. Richard Carpenter is the chancellor of LSCS, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball and LSC-University Park, five centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.