× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

President of Lone Star College-Montgomery Recognized as Marketing ‘Pacesetter’

LSC-Montgomery’s president, Dr. Austin A. Lane, was recently acknowledged as a marketing pacesetter by Sally Cameron, president of the National Council of Marketing and Public Relations.Dr. Austin A. Lane, president of Lone Star College-Montgomery, has been selected as the 2012 Pacesetter of the Year for the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) for District 4. This award recognizes a community college president or CEO who has demonstrated special leadership and support in marketing and public relations.

“As LSC-Montgomery continues to reach new heights campus wide, it’s a privilege to be recognized for the measures taken to reach students and the community,” said Lane, who was presented with the award last week at the District 4 conference in Little Rock, Ark. “This award is a reflection of the creativity of the entire college relations team and their hard work in showcasing the depth of our college’s academic programs, resources, and news.”

Lane was recognized in part for his work in instilling a new sense of campus pride with the addition of Monty the Maverick, LSC-Montgomery’s campus mascot, who will be celebrating his second birthday later this month.

Pacesetter of the Year is awarded annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, and district recipients automatically become a nominee for the national award.

Dr. Austin A. Lane, president of LSC-Montgomery, was recently recognized for his leadership in college marketing and public relations efforts. Pictured with Dr. Lane are member of LSC-Montgomery’s college relations department. (From left to right are Lauren Maddox, writer; Lane; Steve Scheffler, dean of college relations; Brandy Ugent, program coordinator for web content and design; and LaNae Ridgwell, manager of marketing and publications.)
Lane is the first president or CEO from Lone Star College System to win this award since Dr. Sandy Shugart, former Lone Star College-North Harris president and current president of Valencia College, won both the district and national Pacesetter Awards in 1998-99.

NCMPR’s District 4 includes community colleges in Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Colorado, and Wyoming. NCMPR is one of the largest affiliate organizations of the American Association of Community Colleges.

LSC-Montgomery is located at 3200 College Park Drive, one-half mile west of Interstate 45, between Conroe and The Woodlands. For more information about the college, call 936.273.7000, or visit www.LoneStar.edu/montgomery.

With 75,000 students in credit classes, and a total enrollment of more than 90,000, Lone Star College System is the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area, and the fastest-growing community college system in Texas. Dr. Richard Carpenter is the chancellor of LSCS, which consists of six colleges including LSC-CyFair, LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Montgomery, LSC-North Harris, LSC-Tomball, and LSC-University Park, five centers, LSC-University Center at Montgomery, LSC-University Center at University Park, Lone Star Corporate College, and LSC-Online. To learn more visit LoneStar.edu.