× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Lone Star College faculty recognized by national organization

The National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) at the University of Texas at Austin honored 23 Lone Star College faculty members with the NISOD Excellence Award during its recent conference.

“It is a privilege to work with this very committed group of educators,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “Lone Star College has some of the finest instructors anywhere and I am pleased they are getting the recognition they deserve.”

The NISOD Excellence Award provides its members the opportunity to acknowledge and honor individuals who have made exceptional contributions at their respective institutions. Receiving a NISOD Excellence Award demonstrates that the recipient’s college identifies and appreciates their educational contributions.

“NISOD is proud to continue our long history of recognizing the outstanding work of community and technical college educators at our member colleges,” said Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s executive director. “We are thrilled to recognize such active, mindful, and inspirational individuals and their institutions every year.”

Excellence Award recipients were celebrated during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence in Austin last month. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially-cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon.

The LSC faculty members honored are:



Heather Cannon

Amlan Datta

Nina Javaher

Kimberly Mori



Alicja Jac-Kucharski

Lee Ann Liebst

Mari Menard




Dominic Beggan

Alice Cangemi Pollock

Neil Phillips

Linda Vogel


LSC-North Harris

Brandi Crawford

Wade Hescht

Erin Miller

Janet Muzal



Carlos Aguilar

Christine Bradford

Cynthia Galvin

Frank Willingham

LSC-University Park

Michael Donnelly

William            Grayson

Kristie Musgrove

Sean Stewart

In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the conference program with a special icon. All Excellence Award recipients and their colleges will also be listed in a multipage display in a special edition of Community College Week.

For nearly 40 years, NISOD’s customer-focused approach has helped align our wide array of benefits with the needs of our members, which explains why the American Association of Community Colleges named NISOD, “The country’s leading provider of professional development for community college faculty, staff, and administrators.”

Lone Star College offers high-quality, low-cost academic transfer and career training education to 99,000 students each semester. LSC is training tomorrow’s workforce today and redefining the community college experience to support student success. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., serves as chancellor of LSC, the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area with an annual economic impact of nearly $3 billion. LSC consists of six colleges, eight centers, two university centers, Lone Star Corporate College and LSC-Online. To learn more, visit LoneStar.edu.