× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Beta Lambda Mu Takes Top Honors at Regional

Lone Star College-CyFair’s Beta Lambda Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) took top honors at the recent annual Texas State PTK Convention held in Houston.

PTK Wins Top Honors“This year’s officer team and PTK members were amazing. It’s truly been an honor to serve with such high energy and dynamic individuals,” said Leslie Jewkes, chapter co-advisor with Dr. William Schultz.  “The scholarship, service and mature responsibility that the members and officers showed this year truly does set them apart and shows the promise they bring to all their future endeavors.”

This chapter’s teamwork earned them 5-star Chapter Status (highest level chapter award) as well as the Outstanding Honors in Action Project Award and Outstanding College Project Award.

Officers and members worked together to submit a thoroughly researched and well-written Honors in Action (HIA) research project focused  on factors that influence undergraduate students’ choice of major. They also did phenomenal work on their College Project, a multi-faceted approach toward helping both the current and potential future LSC-CyFair students.

Schultz said for the HIA project, officers and members designed, administered, and analyzed the data from a survey sent to students all across the world. The responses indicated that a number of factors were significant, including family pressure and perceived job prospects/income potential.

For the College Project, he said chapter members held a series of workshops throughout the year focused on resume building, job interview skills, scholarship deadlines and application writing, and other “soft skill” development. They also provided tutoring on campus and visited CFISD schools and events to recruit students, improve perception of community college and educate about college opportunities.

Beta Lambda Mu members also earned several individual awards. Chapter officers Shrestha “Diya” Datta, Ivanna Porter and Johnathan Tindle were inducted into Texas State PTK Hall of Honor, along with Jewkes, who was officially inducted into PTK at the convention.

In addition, Datta, who is chapter president, placed third in the State Prepared Speech competition.

“She has served as president since last May and has done a stellar job,” said Jewkes. “Our chapter has managed to resurrect itself because of this young woman's passion and commitment to her position.”

This spring, Beta Lambda Mu welcomed 86 new students increasing membership to 1,481.

For information on LSC-CyFair’s award-wining chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honorary organization for community college students, email Leslie.A.Jewkes@LoneStar.edu or William.Schulz@LoneStar.edu.

Make LSC part of your story.