× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Theater production earns state honors

Lone Star College–Tomball theater students received the highest honors and recognition at the Texas Community College Speech and Theatre Association Play Festival held recently at Blinn College in Brenham.

The theater program production of “The Dining Room” received a superior rating, the highest rating awarded. This is the third consecutive year that Lone Star College–Tomball has earned top honors at this competition.

"The Dining Room” was a great challenge for everyone involved, and I am so proud of the way our students, both actors and our technical crew, worked together to achieve this honor, said Sherri White, director of the theater program. The play required the each member of the cast to portray several different characters. In recognition of the quality of the ensemble performance, the entire cast was named as the recipients of the Bill Morton Best Actor Award.

Awards earned by Lone Star College–Tomball are as follow:

Play: Superior

Bill Morton Best Actor Award: Entire Cast

Superior Acting: Anthony Silva, Candice Darden, Hannah Pace

Excellent Acting: Kristin Anderson, Dawn Clingaman, Kenneth Lindbloom, Tim Kuzniar and Monse

Cardoso, lights; Chaz Reyman, props; Katie Brown, Theresa Hunt, Patricia Jara, David Dick,

Michael Ireland, Megan Thomas, Juan Rosales, Running Crew.

Critic’s Superior Tech: Susanna Qualls, sound; Kristen Anderson and Hannah Pace, costumes;

Tim Kuzniar

Critic’s Excellent Tech: Katie Brown, Stage Manager

Director’s Tech Awards, Superior: Katie Brown and Theresa Hunt, production assistant;

Susanna Qualls, sound; Monse Cardoso and Kuzniar, lights; Chaz Reyman, props; Kristen

Anderson and Hannah Pace, costumes.

Lone Star College–Tomball, located at 30555 Tomball Parkway, is a member of the Lone Star College System. Lone Star College System comprises Lone Star College-North Harris, Lone Star College-Kingwood, Lone Star College–Tomball, Lone Star College–Montgomery, Lone Star College–CyFair, six satellite centers and The University Center