× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Classes Cancelled

All classes are cancelled beginning at 3:00 pm today. Normal schedule will resume on Saturday.  

Instructional team earns exemplary award

Lone Star College–CyFair’s Instructional Leadership Team recently received international recognition at the Chair Academy’s 16th Annual International Conference for Chairs, Deans, and other Organizational Leaders.

The Chair Academy is an organization dedicated to advancing academic and administrative leadership training world wide.

Last year Lone Star College–CyFair’s president, Dr. Diane Troyer, was named recipient of the Paul A. Elsner Leadership Award. This prestigious leadership award represents the highest degree of excellence in the field of educational leadership.

This year several members of Troyer’s administrative staff are being recognized as models of best practices in leadership and for their ability to advance academic and administrative leadership.

Receiving the 2007 Exemplary Leadership Team honor were Dean of Science and Public Services Ted Lewis; Dean of New Program Development and Corporate Training Abdul Tamimi; Dean of Student Learning and Organizational Development Dr. Karla Hase; Dean of Arts and Technology Cliff Jones; Dean of Social, Behavioral and health sciences Jo Fey; Dean of Transitional Studies Anne Albarelli and Dean of Business, Math, Communications and CIT Feleccia Moore-Davis. 

Dr. Christal Albrecht, Lone Star College–CyFair’s Vice President of Student Learning, nominated this group of six deans.

“Most of these six employees were founding deans who helped open Lone Star College–CyFair to nearly 7,000 students in Fall 2003 and now they all provide leadership to faculty who serve more than 11,000 students,” said Albrecht. “They are very active in the community serving on a variety of boards and forming business and industry partnerships.”

Collectively they have started more than 30 new workforce programs, forged articulation agreements and joint admissions programs with universities and established area high school dual credit programs, she said. This team also created an award-winning Integrated Continuing Education (CE) model in which each dean provides leadership for all CE courses in their respective divisions.

Furthermore, these deans continue to lead in the implementation of the Lone Star College–CyFair “Learning Signature,” added Albrecht. Both supporting and insuring that their faculty have the necessary materials to incorporate appropriate learning strategies to engage students in learning, has resulted in a fall-to-fall retention rate 15 % higher than the state average.

In addition to international team recognition, Moore-Davis received a 2007 Exemplary Leader award for her individual outstanding leadership.

“This was a special honor for me, because I was nominated by a representative of those I serve — my faculty,” said Moore-Davis.

For information on the Chair Academy, go to www.mc.maricopa.edu/other/chair.