× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

LSC Update

LSC encourages everyone to wear a mask while on campus and to get a COVID-19 vaccination. Learn more @ LoneStar.edu/Coronavirus. Visit LoneStar.edu/LoneStarCollegeAlert for tropical storm updates.

 

Faculty and Staff

Dean

Anne Amis

Anne AmisAnne Amis is the dean of Arts, English, Communications, & Languages Divsions. She joined LSC-Kingwood in 2007. Amis earned a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish from Hendrix College and a Master of Arts in Teaching ESOL from the SIT Graduate Institute.

Amis has presented two papers: "Activities to Energize Academic Writing" at the Texas of English of Other Languages (TESOL) conference in 2011. In addition, she presented "Applying Appreciative Inquiry in an ESOL Writing Class."

In 2012, she was the recipient of the Faculty International Education Grant, Vietnam. She was also honored with the 2011 LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award.

Amis is a member of the college's Intercultural Student Organization, The Academy and the Behavioral Intervention Team.

"I teach ESOL because it gives me the opportunity to work alongside immigrants and international visitors who are exploring the life-changing gifts and challenges mastering another language provides. As a second-language learner myself, I find the process extremely rich and rewarding," Amis explained. "During my time at LSC-Kingwood, I have always been offered opportunities for personal and professional growth; I love teaching and working here because I am always learning something new, be that a new course I teach a diverse and international student population or professional development activities."

Email: Anne.E.Amis@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1737
Office: APA 109I
Web Site

ESOL/ESL Program Lead

Daniel Tatarzyn

Professor Tatarzyn is a professor and lead faculty of the ESOL/ESL Program at Lone Star College-Kingwood, where he has been teaching ESOL/ESL and developmental English since 2009. Prior to joining Lone Star College, he taught English to adults and children in Costa Rica, Guatemala, and Japan.

Email: Daniel.K.Tatarzyn@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.318.4342
Office: TIB 106

Faculty

Dr. Masoud Shafiei

Dr. Masoud ShafieiDr. Masoud Shafiei is a faculty of the ESOL/ESL Program at Lone Star College Kingwood. Prior to joining Lone Star College, he taught a variety of ESOL/ESL courses at the University of Houston and Houston Community College. He has over 20 years of experience in teaching English to speakers of other languages in the United States and abroad.

He has a Bachelor and Master of Arts in Applied English Linguistics and a Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Houston. He has collaborated on several ESOL/ESL textbooks, including Effective Academic Writing by Oxford University Press, and New Vistas by Pearson Publishing Company. He is the recipients of several grants and awards, including a Faculty International Education Grant for Russia in 2010, and a sabbatical leave in 2013 to do research on ESOL/ESL Programs throughout the United States.

He has presented at numerous conferences in the United States and abroad and conducted teacher-training workshops in South Korea, UAE, Iran, and Russia.

He established the Intercultural Student Organization at the LSC-Kingwood in 2004 to foster multicultural understanding and create a community for ESOL/ESL students where they share their cultures and traditions.

Email: Masoud.Shafiei-Sararodi@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1578
Office: APA 207
Web Site

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Office
Kara Lineback   Kara.D.Lineback@lonestar.edu  
Ladan Moghaddam   Ladan.Moghaddam@lonestar.edu   
Natalia B. Ortiz   Natalia.B.Ortiz@lonestar.edu  
Melissa Silva   Melissa.S.Silva@lonestar.edu  
Jennifer Henely   Jennifer.O.Henely@lonestar.edu  
Teresa Ricondo   Teresa.Ricondo@lonestar.edu?  
Pamela Loneman   Pamela.S.Loneman@lonestar.edu  

Staff

Name Phone Office
Tracheal Freeman
Division Operations Manager
281.312.1620 Tracheal.M.Freeman@lonestar.edu FTC 100C
Terri Salazar-Rodriguez
Division Operations Specialist
281.312.1501 Terri.L.Salazar-Rodriguez@lonestar.edu APA 109

Make LSC part of your story.