×

LSC-Kingwood Math Department

Math Fractal

Welcome to our Department Website

We offer students a variety of math courses including: developmental and co-requisite courses; courses essential for workforce degrees and certificates; and credit level courses for degree-seeking students and those wishing to transfer to four-year institutions. 

Our credit level mathematics courses include those that are required for a degree in Science, Mathematics, Engineering, Business, Education, or Liberal Arts. 

Click a link related to your question or send an email to our department contact below.

Contact Information

Division 4: Mathematics, Engineering, Education, Physical Sciences & Student Success 
Department Dean Dr. Anthony Carreras
Anthony.Carreras@lonestar.edu
281.312.1763, APA 109C
Division Operation Manager (DOM) Desi L. Hunt
Desi.L.Hunt@lonestar.edu
281.312.1466, APA 109F
Department Assistant Angela Reyna
Angela.M.Reyna@lonestar.edu
281.312.1412, CLB 100A
Program Manager, Communities in Schools Titania Jackson, LMSW
Titania.Jackson@lonestar.edu
281.312.8408, TIB 209D
Academic Advisor Nicole Foley
Nicole.D.Foley@lonestar.edu
281.312.1761, CLB 100D
Part-Time Staff Assistant Cheryl Weiland
Cheryl.Weiland@lonestar.edu
281.312.1720, CLA 200

Department Chair

Amy Hoherz

Albert Einstein said, "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new."  I encourage my students to be fearless in learning mathematics, and that practice and mistakes are a part of the learning process.

Amy Hoherz     

BS in Mathematics from University of Iowa
MS in Curriculum and Instruction from Emporia State University
Additional Graduate Coursework in Mathematics from Emporia State University

Amy.J.Hoherz@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1789, LIB 206D
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/ahoherz/

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Stephanie Cockrell Andrews, Lead Faculty

“Mathematics is the language in which God has written the universe." by Galileo Galilei

Stephanie Cockrell     

BS in Education from East Texas Baptist University
ME in Counseling from Stephen F. Austin State University
MS in Mathematics from Stephen F. Austin State University
EdD in Higher Ed Leadership from Sam Houston State University

Stephanie.R.Andrews@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1729, CLA 201C

Dr. Miguel Caceres

“I enjoy my job as an educator, because I have a chance to help students and convince them that learning and getting a college degree will have a positive impact in their lives.”

Miguel Caceres     

BS in Mechanical Engineering
MS in Mathematics, and MS in Operations Research from Georgia Tech
PhD in Statistics and Operations Research from University of Houston

Miguel.A.Caceres@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1713, PA 118K
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/micaceres/

Charity Combs

“Too many people have an extreme dislike of math. I teach for that light bulb moment; that moment when that student who thinks it is impossible, realizes ‘oh, that’s easy.”

Charity Combs     

BS in Mathematics from Norwich University
MS in Aeronautical Science and Safety Systems & Education Technology
MA in Mathematics from University of Houston

Charity.P.Combs@LoneStar.edu
281.312.8431, LIB 206E
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/charcombs/

Tanya Easley

"My philosophy has always been everyone can learn math.  Some just take a little more time and effort. If you have the right mindset, I will do everything in my power to get you there and hopefully have a little fun in the process."

Tanya Easley     

BS Mathematics Education from Louisiana College
MA Mathematics from the University of Houston

tanya.s.easley@lonestar.edu
281.318.4386, CLA 201B
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/taneasley/

Jose Jonathan Gamez

“The best part about being a math teacher is not only helping my students understand mathematics, but also helping them achieve their goals.”

Jose Gamez     

BS in Applied Mathematics from the University of Houston-Downtown
MS in Mathematics from University of Texas El Paso

Jose.J.Gamez@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1623, LIB 206H
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/josgamez/

Suzie Goss

“I enjoy helping others understand mathematics. I hope that through understanding math, students can have an appreciation for it and even grow to like it.”

Suzie Goss     

BS in Mathematics from Stephen F. Austin State University
MS in Mathematics from Texas A&M University

Suzette.M.Goss@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1688, SIB 202L
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/sgoss/

Christina A. Leone

“The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled.” by Plutarch

     Christina Leone

BS in Mathematics from University of Houston
ME in Curriculum & Instruction of Mathematics Education from University of Houston
Christina.A.Leone@lonestar.edu
281 312 1766, CLA 200B

Dr. Chris Martin

"Mathematics is both Art and Science and everyone is capable of doing it. The only secret is to practice and never give up your desire to learn."

Chris Martin     

BA in English and Religious Studies from Rice University
MS in Mathematics from University of Houston
PhD in Nonlinear Reaction Diffusion Equations, Mathematics

Christopher.B.Martin@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1648, TIB 205E
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/chmartin/

Mari Menard

“I believe in learning from all experiences, students should build and nurture their math skills. Stay positive, work hard, and success will follow.”

Mari Menard     

BS in Mathematics from Lamar University Beaumont
MS in Mathematics from Lamar University Beaumont

Mari.M.Menard@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1475, CLA 201A
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/marmenard/

Lyle ONeal

"Math is the language of the universe. If you want to go to China and speak to Chinese people, you learn Mandarin... You want to go to the universe you learn Math." by Neil de Grasse Tyson

Lyle ONeal     

BS in Mathematics from Tarleton State University
MS in Mathematics from Tarleton State University

Lyle.E.ONeal@LoneStar.edu
281.318.4383, CLA 201H, Google Voice: 281.973.7180
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/lyloneal/
youtube.com/c/onepunchmath

Oscar Villalobos

"Consistency and repetition are key, especially in math."

     Oscar Villalobos

BS in Mathematics from University of Houston
MA in Mathematics from University of Houston
Oscar.E.Villalobos@lonestar.edu
281-312-1641, LIB 206B

Loris Zucca

“I enjoy challenging students to do their best.”

Loris Zucca     

BS in Mathematics from Texas A&M University
BS in Mathematics from University of Houston
MS in Mathematics from University of North Texas

Loris.I.Zucca@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1619, CLA 200A
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/lzucca/
sites.google.com/site/loriszucca/

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Name

Email

 

Cesar D. Ayala Gamboa

Cesar.Ayalagamboa@lonestar.edu

 

Brigham J. Barron

Brigham.J.Barron@lonestar.edu

 

Janice Castillo

Janice.Castillo@lonestar.edu

 

Mary Gianoutsos

Mary.K.Gianoutsos@lonestar.edu

 

Lisa R. Harden

Lisa.R.Harden@lonestar.edu 

 

Terry Hart

Terri.J.Hart@lonestar.edu 

 

Willie B. Lewis

Willie.B.Lewis@lonestar.edu

 

Jerry S. McCormack

Jerry.S.McCormack@lonestar.edu

 

Dorene L. Orr

Dorene.L.Orr@lonestar.edu

 

Paula Ortiz

Paula.E.Ortiz@lonestar.edu

 

Mehmet A. Ozek

Mehmet.Ozek@lonestar.edu

 

Cobi V. Reynolds

Cobi.Reynolds@lonestar.edu

 

Patricia A. Speck

Patricia.A.Speck@lonestar.edu

 

Susan Joy Stokes

Susan.J.Stokes@lonestar.edu

 

Georgi D. Tarpomanov

Georgi.D.Tarpomanov@lonestar.edu

 

Sonya Terry

Sonya.D.Terry@lonestar.edu

 

Gary Utecht

Gary.Utecht@lonestar.edu

 

Elaine S. Victory

Elaine.S.Victory@lonestar.edu

 

Ronald C. White

Ronald.C.White@lonestar.edu

 

Yan Zhang

Yan.Zhang@lonestar.edu

Make LSC part of your story.