× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

LSC-Kingwood Math Department

Welcome to our Department Website

We offer students a variety of math courses including: developmental and co-requisite courses; courses essential for workforce degrees and certificates; and credit level courses for degree-seeking students and those wishing to transfer to four-year institutions. 

Our credit level mathematics courses include those that are required for a degree in Science, Mathematics, Engineering, Business, Education, or Liberal Arts. 

Click a link related to your question or send an email to our department contact below.

Contact Information

Division Mathematics, Engineering, Education, Physics & Student Success (MEEPS)
Department Dean Interm, Dr. Anthony Carreras
Anthony.Carreras@lonestar.edu
281.312.1763, APA 109
Department Assistant Angela Reyna
Angela.M.Reyna@lonestar.edu
281.312.1412, CLB 100A
Academic Advisor Titania Jackson
Titania.Jackson@lonestar.edu
281.312.8404, SCC 210

Full-Time Faculty

Suzie Goss, Department Chairman

“I enjoy helping others understand mathematics. I hope that through understanding math, students can have an appreciation for it and even grow to like it.”

BS in Mathematics from Stephen F. Austin State University
MS in Mathematics from Texas A&M University

Suzette.M.Goss@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1688, SIB 202L
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/sgoss/

Dr. Stephanie Cockrell Andrews

“Mathematics is the language in which God has written the universe." by Galileo Galilei

BS in Education from East Texas Baptist University
ME in Counseling from Stephen F. Austin State University
MS in Mathematics from Stephen F. Austin State University
EdD in Higher Ed Leadership from Sam Houston State University

Stephanie.R.Andrews@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1729, CLA 201C
website coming

Dr. Miguel Caceres

“I enjoy my job as an educator, because I have a chance to help students and convince them that learning and getting a college degree will have a positive impact in their lives.”

BS in Mechanical Engineering
MS in Mathematics, and MS in Operations Research from Georgia Tech
PhD in Statistics and Operations Research from University of Houston

Miguel.A.Caceres@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1713, PA 118K
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/micaceres/

Charity Combs

“Too many people have an extreme dislike of math. I teach for that light bulb moment; that moment when that student who thinks it is impossible, realizes ‘oh, that’s easy.”

BS in Mathematics from Norwich University
MS in Aeronautical Science and Safety Systems & Education Technology
MA in Mathematics from University of Houston

Charity.P.Combs@LoneStar.edu
281.312.8431, LIB 206E
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/charcombs/

Tanya Easley

"My philosophy has always been everyone can learn math.  Some just take a little more time and effort. If you have the right mindset, I will do everything in my power to get you there and hopefully have a little fun in the process."

BS Mathematics Education from Louisiana College
MA Mathematics from the University of Houston

tanya.s.easley@lonestar.edu
281.318.4386, CLA 201B
website coming

Jose Jonathan Gamez

“The best part about being a math teacher is not only helping my students understand mathematics, but also helping them achieve their goals.”

BS in Applied Mathematics from the University of Houston-Downtown
MS in Mathematics from University of Texas El Paso

Jose.J.Gamez@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1623, LIB 206H
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/josgamez/

Amy Jo Hoherz

"As Albert Einstein said, 'A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.'  I encourage my students to be fearless in learning mathematics and that practice and mistakes are a part of the learning process.

BS in Mathematics from University of Iowa
MS in Curriculum and Instruction from Emporia State University
Coursework in Mathematics from Emporia State University

Amy.Hoherz@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1789, LIB 206D
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/ahoherz/

Dr. Chris Martin

"Mathematics is both Art and Science and everyone is capable of doing it. The only secret is to practice and never give up your desire to learn."

BA in English and Religious Studies from Rice University
MS in Mathematics from University of Houston
PhD in Nonlinear Reaction Diffusion Equations, Mathematics

Christopher.B.Martin@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1648, TIB 205E
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/chmartin/

Mari Menard

“I believe in learning from all experiences, students should build and nurture their math skills. Stay positive, work hard, and success will follow.”

BS in Mathematics from Lamar University Beaumont
MS in Mathematics from Lamar University Beaumont

Mari.M.Menard@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1475, CLA 201A
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/marmenard/

Lyle ONeal

“Making mathematics easier to understand is my mission. Helping students be successful is my goal.”

BS in Mathematics from Tarleton State University
MS in Mathematics from Tarleton State University

Lyle.E.ONeal@LoneStar.edu
281.318.4383, CLA 201H, Google Voice: 281.973.7180
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/lyloneal/
youtube.com/c/onepunchmath

John Reutter

“With the passing of time I am knowing less and less about more and more.  But I know with absolute certainty that LSC-Kingwood is a great place to be.”

BS in Mathematics from Xavier University
MS in Mathematics from Eastern Michigan University

John.H.Reutter@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1783 CLA 200B
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/jreutter/

Loris Zucca

“I enjoy challenging students to do their best.”

BS in Mathematics from Texas A&M University
BS in Mathematics from University of Houston
MS in Mathematics from University of North Texas

Loris.I.Zucca@LoneStar.edu
281.312.1619, CLA 200A
apps.lonestar.edu/blogs/lzucca/
sites.google.com/site/loriszucca/

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Name

Email

  Cesar Ayala Cesar.Ayalagamboa@lonestar.edu
  Brigham Barron Brigham.J.Barron@lonestar.edu
  Janice Castillo Janice.Castillo@lonestar.edu
  Mary Gianoutsos Mary.K.Gianoutsos@lonestar.edu
  Lisa Harden Lisa.R.Harden@lonestar.edu 
  Terri Hart Terri.J.Hart@lonestar.edu
  Jerry McCormack Jerry.S.McCormack@lonestar.edu
  Dorene Orr Dorene.L.Orr@lonestar.edu
  Paula Ortiz Paula.E.Ortiz@lonestar.edu
  Cobi Reynolds Cobi.Reynolds@lonestar.edu
  Susan Joy Stokes Susan.J.Stokes@lonestar.edu
  Sonya Terry Sonya.D.Terry@lonestar.edu
  Gary Utecht Gary.Utecht@lonestar.edu
  Elaine Victory Elaine.S.Victory@lonestar.edu
  Oscar Villalobos Oscar.E.Villalobos@lonestar.edu
  Ron White Ronald.C.White@lonestar.edu

 

Make LSC part of your story.