Visit LoneStarAlert for more information.

Humanities Departments

Welcome to the Humanities departments of Lone Star College! You can use your Humanities courses toward an Associate of Arts academic degree and workforce programs. Find out how!


Contacting the Humanities Department

  • The department director's office is your primary source for all program, course and transfer questions.
  • The department director approves all coursework exceptions and prior learning experiences for credit courses toward your degree or certificate.
  • CE-to-Credit linked courses can also be verified by contacting the department director or dean.

LSC-CyFair Contacts

LSC-CyFair Humanities Department

Name Phone Office
Mark Thorsby
Department Chair
281.290.3447 Mark.Thorsby@LoneStar.edu CASA 225Q
Kelly Gernhart
281.290.5215 Kelly.J.Gernhart@LoneStar.edu TECH 123D

LSC-Kingwood Contacts

LSC-Kingwood Humanities Department

Name Phone Office
Dr. Thilo Schimmel
Department Chair
281.312.1406 Thilo.W.Schimmel@LoneStar.edu CLA 200C
Dr. Marie Sesay
Dean of Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH)
281.312.1670 Marie.Sesay@LoneStar.edu ADM 209D

LSC-Montgomery Contacts

LSC-Montgomery Humanities Department

Name Phone Office
Linda Woodward
Department Chair
936.273.7228 Linda.Woodward@LoneStar.edu A200F
Deborah Ellington
936.273.7274 Deborah.N.Ellington@LoneStar.edu F252

LSC-North Harris Contacts

LSC-North Harris Humanities Department

Name Phone Office
Wade Hescht
Department Chair
281.618.5640 Billy.W.Hescht@LoneStar.edu ARTS 204A
Gary Liebst
281.618.5696 gary.l.liebst@LoneStar.edu ARTS 204C

LSC-Tomball Contacts

LSC-Tomball Humanities Department

Name Phone Office

Van Piercy
Interim Department Chair 

 281.401.1814  Van.A.Piercy@lonestar.edu  
Melinda Coleman
 281.401.1824  Melinda.A.Coleman@lonestar.edu  

LSC-University Park Contacts

Name Phone Office
Brian Reeves
Department Chair
281.290.3749 Brian.Reeves@LoneStar.edu B13.814
Lisa Hill
281.290.5013 Lisa.A.Hill@LoneStar.edu B13.818B
Amy Hirsch
281.290.2939 Amy.M.Hirsch@LoneStar.edu NRB.209O