Visit LoneStarAlert for more information.

LSC-Montgomery Speech Department

What is Speech?

student in classroomRegardless of the career you have planned, you’re bound to find yourself in situations where you’ll need to give an oral presentation. Whether you’re an accountant, an architect, a surgeon or a scuba instructor — communication skills are essential for your career development. The skills you’ll learn in a public speaking course will help you succeed in your other courses. Listening may be a lost art, but a public speaking course actually teaches you to become a better listener. In the class you’ll hear several different kinds of speeches about a wide variety of topics from people who may be very different from you, which can be a beautiful thing. And while the instruction you’ll receive about being an active listener will help you do things like take better notes in your classes, the real benefits of being a better listener are relational.

Faculty & Staff

Name Phone Office
Brandy Harvey
936.271.6155 Brandy.A.Harvey@LoneStar.edu G120-B
Sam Thomas
Chair and Professor
936.273.7081 Samuel.L.Thomas@LoneStar.edu G-220G
Julie Alber
936.273.7241 Julie.Alber@LoneStar.edu G-221L
Karyn Friesen
936.273.7483 Karyn.I.Friesen@LoneStar.edu G-221F
Tony Fuller
936.273.7485 Anthony.Fuller@LoneStar.edu
Sara Goff
Associate Professor
936.271.6132 Sara.L.Goff@LoneStar.edu G-220H