Dean of Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH)

Dr. Marie Sesay

Dr. Marie SesayDr. Marie Sesay is the Dean of Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH) for Lone Star College-Kingwood. For more than a decade, Sesay has been committed to educating adults within the mission and vision of community colleges. Sesay's passion for education has grown through the various positions she has held. Prior to her present position, Sesay taught sociology for various campuses within Lone Star College, Houston Community College System, Park University in Austin, Texas and online. In previous careers, Sesay served as compliance officer for workforce programs, Psychotherapist, nursing home administrator, and in management at a rehabilitation facility.

Sesay earned a Bachelor's degree from Stephen F. Austin and a Master's degree in counseling from Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU). She also completed post-graduate work in sociology at PVAMU and earned a doctorate degree from the Community College Leadership Program at The University of Texas at Austin where she received the Jessie H. Jones Endowed Fellowship Scholarship, the Great American Scholarship and the George and Irene Baker Scholarship.

Sesay is the first child of parents from Sierra Leone, West Africa. She is fluent in African dialect of Krio and is committed to her community locally and internationally.

Email: Marie.Sesay@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1670
Office: ADM 209-D

Department Chair

Thilo M. Schimmel, Ph.D.

Thilo M. Schimmel, Ph.D.Thilo M. Schimmel, Ph.D., history professor, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2011. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from Universität Regensburg in Germany and a Master of Arts degree in American Studies from Purdue University. He earned a Ph.D. in History from the University of Illinois.

"History is the most fascinating field of inquiry I have encountered in my life and I hope to pass my enthusiasm about it to my students."

Email: Thilo.W.Schimmel@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1406
Office: CLA 200-C
Web Site

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Office
Melissa L. Baughn Melissa.L.Baughn@lonestar.edu
Keith C. Hall Keith.C.Hall@lonestar.edu
Brittany A. Pratt Brittany.A.Pratt@lonestar.edu
Estela M. Turbiville Estela.M.Turbiville@lonestar.edu
Ramin D. Zamanian Ramin.D.Zamanian@lonestar.edu

Staff

Name Phone Office
Sharon Kenemore
Academic Counselor
281.312.1574 Sharon.L.Kenemore@lonestar.edu CLA 201
Isabel Torres
Faculty Assistant
281.312.1651 Isabel.G.Torres@lonestar.edu LIB 206