What programs are offered at Lone Star College-Montgomery?

There are four levels of Emergency Medical Services programs offered by the Lone Star College System:

  • Associate of Applied Science Degree
  • Paramedic Certificate
  • Advanced EMT (hybrid course) 
  • EMT Course

LSC-Montgomery offers the EMT course, which will take one semester to complete. The EMT course includes the training and skills necessary to recognize, assess, and manage emergencies under the supervision and direction of a physician. Once you are certified as an EMT, you can apply for the hybrid online Advanced EMT program. Advanced course work, in which the student attends class through the technology of webex, builds on the EMT knowledge and leads to a C1-EMSI certificate. Program participants earn college credit toward an Associate of Applied Science Degree. Graduates can expect career opportunities in both transfer and emergency ambulance services. Students completing coursework in these programs are eligible to apply to the Texas Department of State Health Services for certification after passing the credentialing exam through the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians exam.

Certification/licensure is not automatic; the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and/or the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) administer all certification examinations upon completion of a DSHS recognized educational program. Completion of the LSC-Montgomery EMSP program does not guarantee eligibility for DSHS/NREMT certification/licensure. Criminal background checks are conducted by DSHS as part of the screening process. Candidates with concerns about their background should contact the Texas Department of State Health Services in Austin.