× LoneStarCollegeALERT:

Visit LoneStarCollegeAlert for more information.

Dean

James Stubbs

James StubbsJames Stubbs is Dean of Fire Science, Letters, Arts & Kinesiology (FLAK) at Lonestar College - Kingwood. Prior to becoming Dean, he also served as band director and professor of music and directed the Kingwood Big Band, Lone Star College - Kingwood Jazz Ensemble, and the Kingwood Community Symphonic Band.

Prior to his arrival at Lone Star College - Kingwood in 2004, Mr. Stubbs was the director of bands at Navarro College in Corsicana, Texas for fourteen years where he directed the marching band, athletic bands, jazz ensembles, theater orchestras, wind ensembles, and community bands. His teaching duties have included courses in music theory, music appreciation, American music, jazz improvisation, and applied brass.

Prior to his career in higher education, Mr. Stubbs served as a high school band director and applied trumpet educator in high schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas. He is a native of Pine Bluff, Arkansas and is a graduate of Louisiana Tech University, the University of North Texas, and is a doctoral candidate at Baylor University.

Email: James.D.Stubbs@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1501
Office: PAC 117-A
Web Site

Department Chair

Eric C. Skiles

Eric C. SkilesEric C. Skiles, professor and artistic director of theatre, joined LSC-Kingwood 12 years ago. Skiles earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree in conducting, vocal music and pedagogy from Texas Tech University and a Master of Fine Arts degree in acting and directing from the same institution.

Skiles has presented more than 39 papers at the local, state, regional and national levels. In addition, Skiles has contributed and/or authored more than 20 publications including 18 book reviews for the American Library Association. He also co-authored "Acting Across Disciplines" with Homan and Ellison. Skiles has also written and produced one play, "Across a moonbeam."

Skiles has earned numerous awards. He was recognized for producing "The Vagina Monologues" by the Kennedy Center American College (KC-ACTF) Theatre Festival in 2011. He was also recognized by the KC-ACTF for producing "Gross Indecency: The Three Trials of Oscar Wilde." In 2010, Skiles was recognized with the LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award.

"I am madly passionate about the world of theatre, and creating unique works of art to share with our students and our community," Skiles explained. "This has been an amazing ride, and the great ride continues. It is a pleasure to work at LSC-Kingwood and be surrounded by other passionate people who care so much for our students and their education."

Email: Eric.C.Skiles@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1672
Office: PAC 113-A
Web Site

Faculty

Mari Omori

Mari OmoriMari Omori, professor of art, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2001. Omori earned a Bachelor Arts degree from California State University. She also holds a Master of Fine Arts degree from the University of California.

Prior to joining LSC-Kingwood, Omori taught courses in design and drawing at the University of California, California State University and San Diego State University.

Omori is affiliated with a number of art organizations. She is a member of the Art Exhibit Advisory Board at Pearl Fincher Museum of Art in Spring, Texas. She is also a member of the Menil Collection, Museum of Fine Arts Houston, the Asia Society Texas Center, Lawndale Arts Center, Diverseworks, Women and Their Work, Blaffer Art Museum/University of Houston, Japan America Society Houston, Greater Association of Japanese in Houston, and the Asian Pacific American of Houston Association.

"I think the best part of my role is sharing my knowledge and experiences in art to my students and to the community members through instructions and at the same time being an artist, actively making art and exhibiting throughout the United States and internationally," stated Omori.

Email: Mari.Omori@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1583
Office: CLB 102-A
Web Site

Kelley Revuelto

Kelley RevueltoKelley Revuelto, professor of art history and art appreciation, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2005. Revuelto received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Visual Communications from Texas State University and a Master of Arts degree in Art History from Texas Woman's University.

"I find it insightful to see history expressed through the visual arts. My professional aim is to make the subject matter not only accessible to all students but interesting, "explained Ruvuelto. "My experience at LSC-Kingwood has been rewarding."

Email: Kelley.N.Revuelto@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1734
Office: CLB 102-D
Web Site

Cory Cryer

Cory CryerCory Cryer, professor of art, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2006. Cryer earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Teaching from Sam Houston State University and a Master of Fine Arts degree from Texas Woman's University.

"I teach ceramics because of its long history and ability to transcend cultural boundaries," explained Cryer.

Email: Cory.R.Cryer@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1663
Office: CLB 102-B
Web Site

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Office
Gerard Baldwin
Drawing
  Gerard.H.Baldwin@lonestar.edu  
Joe Kagle
Art Appreciation
  Joe.Kagle@lonestar.edu  
William Scott Rosenberg
Ceramics
  WM.Rosenberg@lonestar.edu  
Bryan Wheeler
Art Appreciation
  Bryan.E.Wheeler@lonestar.edu  
Adela Andea
Drawing
  Adela.Andea@lonestar.edu  
William Tone
Art Appreciation
  William.H.Tone@lonestar.edu  
Anthony Sonnenberg
Drawing and Art Appreciation
  Anthony.P.Sonnenberg@lonestar.edu  
Aaron Bielish
Art Appreciation
  Aaron.J.Bielish@lonestar.edu  
Virgilio Davis
Drawing and Art Appreciation
  Virgilio.A.Davis@lonestar.edu  

Staff

Name Phone Office
Mitzi Payne
Division Coordinator
281.312.1501 Kathleen.E.Payne@lonestar.edu PAC 117
Tracheal Freeman
Division Operations Manager
281.312.1620 Tracheal.M.Freeman@lonestar.edu SFA 118