×

Faculty & Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Robin Griffith - Professor of Art 

I am a native Houstonian who has three degrees that include an AA, BFA, and MFA plus over a decade of teaching at the college level. My degrees were received from Houston Community College, University of Houston, and Louisiana State University. Past exhibits include shows with Spring Street Studios in Houston, the Conroe and New Braunfels Art Leagues and Art on 12 in Wimberley, TX. I teach Drawing I, Drawing II, Life Drawing, 2D- Design, and Art Appreciation.

I enjoy working in different mediums that include drawing, painting, sculpture, mixed media, and installations. Through my studies and teaching I learned that art is a language that is seen through visual representations creating internal interpretation of time based on human experience. I believe our minds are given the chance to travel through time exploring another place by documentation and imagination. I encourage my students to do research throughout the semester that becomes the foundation for each project. I teach my students the importance of having this good foundation for their work to build consistency and creativity. My students explore different art mediums that helps to nurture their imagination and builds upon their interests in art. 

Email: Robin.Griffith@LoneStar.edu
Phone: 936.273.7447
Office: A-200B
Degrees: A.A. Houston Community College, B.F.A University Houston, M.F.A Louisiana State University
Courses: Drawing I & II, Life Drawing, 2D-Design, and Art Appreciation


Darren Longman - Professor of Art & Humanities

My primary objectives as an educator are to instill a sense of passion for arts and humanities fields, enhance methods of critical analysis, increase cultural awareness/diverse viewpoints, and develop oral, written, and visual communication skills. In my classes, students can expect a non-linear approach to art and humanities courses in which inclusive discussions and global perspectives merge with active-learning strategies to promote empathy and social responsibility. I aim to construct an environment in which students learn to recognize and interpret the inner workings of cultural structures and, consequently, draw new conclusions that foster positive changeóboth in academic settings and society writ large. Also, I aim to help students navigate the increasingly visual/textual world of this digital age to achieve a higher level of personal and professional success.  

I completed my associateís degree in Humanities from Pasadena City College, bachelorís degree in Art History/Anthropology from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and masterís degree in Art History from the University of Texas at Austin. My research centers on interdisciplinary approaches to Mesoamerican studies, including art historical, anthropological, and philosophical methodologies. I have presented papers for several conferences/symposia and, more recently, co-authored a chapter for a forthcoming volume on Mesoamerican serpent beings. I also worked as an educator for the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, California, and for the Family and Community Programs department at the Blanton Museum of Art in Austin, Texas, where I developed lessons for a wide range of ancient, modern, and contemporary exhibitions. 

Email: Darren.Longman@LoneStar.edu
Phone: 936.273.7233
Office: A-200H
Degrees: A.A. Pasadena City College, B.A. University of California, Los Angeles, M.A. University of Texas at Austin 
Courses: Art History (Prehistoric to Gothic & Renaissance to Modern), Humanities (Early Global Cultures & Later Global Cultures), and Art Appreciation


Tommy Taylor - Professor & Gallery Director

I help students delegate their life experiences with art so that they can process, execute, and move on. To do this efficiently students need to understand as clearly as possible what is expected of them. I make sure everyone learns each otherís names in the first 20 minutes on the first day of class. This keeps the class and myself sharp and present with each other from the very beginning. This accountable group dynamic helps build trust so that they not only hear but understand when I remind them that ďyou are each otherís greatest resource beyond this classroom and art school. Remember, that the art world is made of people.Ē In sum, my goal is that students understand how personal experience through hard work, self-discovery, and collaboration connects the world with ourselves through an identity in art making.

Email: Thomas.A.Taylor@Lonestar.edu
Phone: 936.273.7201
Office: A-200D
Website: http://www.tommytaylorart.com
Degrees: B.F.A. University of Tennessee, M.A. University of Iowa, M.F.A. Goldsmiths College
Courses: Art Appreciation, 2-D Design, Painting, Drawing


Robby Wood - Professor of Art

I believe artists must create, and by doing the process enough, good things will happen.

Email: Charles.R.Wood@Lonestar.edu
Phone: 936.273.7064
Office: A-200M
Website: Faculty Website
Degrees: M.F.A. The California State University Fullerton
Courses: Art Appreciation, Ceramics

 


Emmy Levine - Department Chair of Art, Humanities, and Theatre

Having spent a decade working in the theatre scene on Broadway, nationally and internationally, I bring my professional background and experience directly to my Lone Star College--Montgomery classroom. I also am able to use my connections to bring working professionals to my classroom, both virtually and live in-person. This allows us to dive into theatre techniques and styles that are actively being used on stages around the world today.

I love the wide range of backgrounds and experience that our LSC-M students bring to class every day. It's my mission to meet each individual student at their own level, and help them achieve their artistic goals. 

 

Email: Emmy.Levine@lonestar.edu
Phone: 936.273.7078
Office: A-200N
Website: Faculty Website
Degrees: B.F.A in Directing from New York University, M.F.A in Musical Theatre Directing from The Pennsylvania State University 
Courses: Acting II, Acting for the Camera, Script Analysis, Theatre Practicum, Theatre Appreciation & Film Appreciation


Part-Time Faculty

Scott Bruce

Scott.B.Bruce@LoneStar.edu

Art Appreciation

Richard Carnley

Richard.A.Carnley@LoneStar.edu

Art Appreciation, Art History

Marcus Cone

Marcus.Cone@lonestar.edu

Art Appreciation

Farima Fooladi

Farima.Safaitakhtehfooladi@lonestar.edu

Drawing 1

Lisa Harris

Lisa.Harris@LoneStar.edu

Photography 1 & 2

Katrina Kelly 

Katrina.Kelly@LoneStar.edu

Art History, Humanities

David Brandon Lee

David.Lee@LoneStar.edu

Drawing 1

Gina Miceli-Hoffman

Gina.Miceli-Hoffman@LoneStar.edu

Art Appreciation

Jonathan Morgan

Jonathan.P.Morgan@LoneStar.edu

Art History

Shayne Murphy

Shayne.J.Murphy@LoneStar.edu

Drawing 1

Jonathan Read

Jonathan.Read@LoneStar.edu

Art Appreciation

Chloe Stewart

Chloe.Stewart@lonestar.edu

Art Appreciation

Linda Woodward

Linda.Woodward@LoneStar.edu

Art History

Valerie Yaklin-Brown

Valerie.K.Yaklin-Brown@LoneStar.edu

Photography 1 & 2


Staff

Elaine Duke
Events Coordinator III

936.273.7021

Elaine.Duke@lonestar.edu

A-200J

Kerri Steen
Staff Assistant II

936.271.6246

Kerri.G.Steen@Lonestar.edu

A-200

Make LSC part of your story.