× LONE STAR ALERT:

Visit LoneStarAlert for more information.

Center for Civic Engagement

The Creation of Politics from
Kettering Foundation on Vimeo.

Get Involved at Lone Star College

Civic engagement means promoting the quality of life in a community through both political and nonpolitical processes. It teaches many different executive skills such as: grit, self-control, zest, social intelligence, gratitude, optimism, and curiosity. These skills aid students well into the future as they finish degrees and enter the workforce.

Whether a student is looking to transfer to a four-year university or looking to joining the workforce after attending Lone Star College, being involved in civic activities help prepare them for life after Lone Star College.

Engage the Election

The Engage the Election initiative encourages the Lone Star College community to host engaging events through which both students and the community can have an open, civil dialogue surrounding issues during an election year.
Learn more about Engage the Election

Values

  • Participation - We will identify and create opportunities for individuals, groups and organizations to become actively involved in a project or program of activity.
  • Advocacy - We will empower others to act to protect an asset of interest to their community.
  • Social Justice - We will work to ensure the fair distribution of advantages, assets, and benefits among all members of a society.
  • Sustainability - We will promote social and environmental practices that protect and enhance the human and natural resources needed by future generations to enjoy a quality of life equal to or greater than our own.

Leadership Committee

Dr. John Theis
Director
John.J.Theis@lonestar.edu
281.312.1741

Seth Howard
Assistant Director
Seth.M.Howard@lonestar.edu
281.312.1637

Dr. John Duerk
Campus Coordinator at LSC-CyFair
John.A.Duerk@lonestar.edu
281.290.3580

Michele Richey
Campus Coordinator at LSC-Montgomery
Michele.Richey@lonestar.edu
936.273.7327

Erika Herrera
Campus Coordinator at LSC-North Harris
Erika.Y.Herrera@lonestar.edu
281.618.5597

Clark Friesen
Campus Coordinator at LSC-Tomball
Clark.W.Friesen@lonestar.edu,
281.401.1807

Cassandra Khatri
Campus Coordinator at LSC-University Park
Cassandra.G.Khatri@lonestar.edu
281.290.3767

Dr. Zach Coapland
Vice President of Student Success at LSC-University Park