University Rebates and Excess Hours
Students who plan to transfer for the purpose of attaining a baccalaureate degree must be informed about the consequences of taking excessive courses outside of their degree plans. The result will include the possiblity of the universities and four-year colleges imposing tuition penalties.
This reinforces the need for adequate degree planning, career counseling, and transfer information. Students who plan well and carefully select and complete courses within their degree plans may be eligible for tuition rebates.
A $1000 tuition rebate is available to students who complete a baccalaureate degree within 3 credit hours of the degree plan.
The purpose of this program is to provide tuition rebates that will provide a financial incentive for students to prepare for university studies while completing their high school work, avail themselves of academic counseling, make early career decisions, and complete their baccalaureate studies with as few courses outside the degree plan as possible. Minimizing the number of courses taken by students results in financial savings to students, parents, and the state.
Read the details of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board law: Tuition Rebate
Students can be charged non-resident tuition if their semester hours substantially exceed the requirements of the baccalaureate degree plan.
Effective with students initially enrolling in the fall 1999 semester and subsequent terms, hours, including dual credit hours, attempted by a resident undergraduate student that exceed more than 45 hours of the number of hours required for completion of the degree plan in which the student is enrolled.
Effective with students initially enrolling in the fall 2006 semester and subsequent terms, hours, including dual credit hours, attempted by a resident undergraduate student that exceed more than 30 hours of the number of hours required for completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled. For purposes of excess hours, resident undergraduate student includes a nonresident student who is permitted to pay resident tuition.
Read the details of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board law: Excess Hours (PDF)